Dover Marina
Dover, Kent · English Channel
£3,450 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 24m (80ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Large yacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early.
39 sites · 6 with space now · 3 with a waiting list · typical £14,913 a year for a 24m boat (£302–£48,269 across 26 published tariffs)
Dover, Kent · English Channel
£3,450 a year for a 10m yacht
Lydney, Gloucestershire · River Severn
£849 a year for a 10m yacht
Atherstone, Warwickshire · Coventry Canal
Prices on request
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear · River Tyne
£276 a year for a 10m yacht
Falmouth, Cornwall · Falmouth Harbour
£4,800 a year for a 10m yacht
London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Minehead, Somerset · Bristol Channel, Minehead Harbour
£644 a year for a 10m yacht
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
Prices not published
Cowes, Isle of Wight · River Medina
£6,428 a year for a 10m yacht
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
Lymington, Hampshire · Lymington River
£10,193 a year for a 10m yacht
Bideford, Devon · River Torridge
£500 a year for a 10m yacht
Chatham, Kent · River Medway Estuary
£8,040 a year for a 10m yacht
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
£11,454 a year for a 10m yacht
Ipswich, Suffolk · River Orwell
£3,673 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Plymouth, Devon · Plymouth Sound, Millbay
£5,590 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble
£14,202 a year for a 10m yacht
Hayling Island, Hampshire · Chichester Harbour
£13,224 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£4,770 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · Southampton Water
£11,526 a year for a 10m yacht
Hamble, Hampshire · River Hamble
£14,904 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Portishead, North Somerset · Bristol Channel
£4,690 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£6,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£9,042 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£10,770 a year for a 10m yacht
Hugh Town, Isles of Scilly · St Mary's Harbour
£302 a year for a 10m yacht
Torquay, Devon · Tor Bay
£11,232 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehaven, Cumbria · Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour
£3,010 a year for a 10m yacht
Woolverstone, Suffolk · River Orwell
£3,444 a year for a 10m yacht
Chiswick, London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Hamble, Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble
Prices not published
Sandwich, Kent · River Stour
Prices not published
Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire · Humber Estuary
Prices on request
Rochester, Kent · River Medway
Prices not published
Rochford, Essex · River Roach
Prices on request
Rochford, Essex · River Roach
Prices on request
| Site | Where | A year, 24m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dover Marina | Dover, English Channel | £8,280 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Lydney Harbour | Lydney, River Severn | £2,038 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Mancetter Marina | Atherstone, Coventry Canal | On request | 33.5m (110ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Newcastle City Marina | Newcastle upon Tyne, River Tyne | £414 | 26m (85ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Port Pendennis Marina | Falmouth, Falmouth Harbour | £14,400 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| St Katharine Docks Marina | London, River Thames | – | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Minehead Harbour | Minehead, Bristol Channel, Minehead Harbour | £1,546 | 75m (246ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Salterns Marina | Poole, Poole Harbour | – | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Shepards Marina | Cowes, River Medina | £15,426 | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Blackwall Basin Moorings | London, Blackwall Basin | On request | 38m (125ft) | – | – | Full |
| Berthon Lymington Marina | Lymington, Lymington River | £27,113 | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bideford Harbour | Bideford, River Torridge | £1,200 | 50m (164ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Chatham Maritime Marina | Chatham, River Medway Estuary | £19,296 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Cobb's Quay Marina | Poole, Poole Harbour | £32,976 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fox's Marina & Boatyard | Ipswich, River Orwell | £8,816 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gunwharf Quays Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £19,200 | 80m (262ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | £6,840 | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| King Point Marina | Plymouth, Plymouth Sound, Millbay | £13,416 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Mercury Yacht Harbour | Southampton, River Hamble | £40,795 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Northney Marina | Hayling Island, Chichester Harbour | £33,869 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ocean Quay Marina | Southampton, River Itchen | – | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ocean Village Marina | Southampton, Southampton Water | £43,402 | 80m (262ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Hamble Marina | Hamble, River Hamble | £48,269 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Solent Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £21,360 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portishead Marina | Portishead, Bristol Channel | £11,256 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | – | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Saxon Wharf | Southampton, River Itchen | £35,352 | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Shamrock Quay | Southampton, River Itchen | £37,656 | 70m (230ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| St Mary's Harbour | Hugh Town, St Mary's Harbour | £302 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Torquay Marina | Torquay, Tor Bay | £33,451 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Whitehaven Marina | Whitehaven, Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour | £7,373 | 65m (213ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Woolverstone Marina | Woolverstone, River Orwell | £8,266 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Chiswick Pier | Chiswick, London, River Thames | – | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hamble Point Marina | Hamble, Southampton, River Hamble | – | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Highway Marine | Sandwich, River Stour | – | 24.4m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hull Waterside & Marina | Hull, Humber Estuary | On request | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Medway Marina | Rochester, River Medway | – | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sutton Wharf Boatyard | Rochford, River Roach | On request | 45.7m (150ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sutton Wharf Boatyard | Rochford, River Roach | On request | 24.4m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 26 marinas for boats over 24m here that publish a price, a 24m boat costs from £302 a year at St Mary's Harbour to £48,269 a year at Port Hamble Marina. The middle figure is £14,913 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 24m boat, St Mary's Harbour is cheapest at £302 a year in Hugh Town.
6 of the 39 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Dover Marina, Lydney Harbour, Mancetter Marina, Newcastle City Marina, Port Pendennis Marina and St Katharine Docks Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 39 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Dover Marina (30m (98ft)), Lydney Harbour (25m (82ft)), Mancetter Marina (33.5m (110ft)), Newcastle City Marina (26m (85ft)), Port Pendennis Marina (25m (82ft)), St Katharine Docks Marina (40m (131ft)), Minehead Harbour (75m (246ft)), Salterns Marina (25m (82ft)) and 31 more. Check beam and draught too.
4 of the 39 say you can: Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent), Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Ocean Quay Marina (liveaboard by arrangement) and Hull Waterside & Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways) and 3 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability