Liveaboard moorings for boats over 24m in England

Moorings where the site says you can live on board, outright or by arrangement. Residential moorings often need planning consent and pay council tax; we show the terms as each site states them. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 24m (80ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Large yacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early.

4 sites · typical £6,840 a year for a 24m boat (£6,840–£6,840 across 1 published tariffs)

At a glance

Estuaries & tidal rivers Full

Blackwall Basin Moorings

London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin

Prices on request

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Coast & harbours

Hartlepool Marina

Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)

£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht

Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Ocean Quay Marina

Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen

£4,770 a year for a 10m yacht

Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Hull Waterside & Marina

Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire · Humber Estuary

Prices on request

Liveaboard

Compared: prices for a 24m boat

SiteWhereA year, 24m boatLiveaboardLongest boatWidest beamDeepest draughtSpace
Blackwall Basin MooringsLondon, Blackwall BasinOn requestResidential moorings with planning consent38m (125ft)––Full
Hartlepool MarinaHartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea)£6,840Liveaboard by arrangement50m (164ft)–5mNot reported
Ocean Quay MarinaSouthampton, River Itchen–Liveaboard by arrangement30m (98ft)––Not reported
Hull Waterside & MarinaHull, Humber EstuaryOn requestResidential moorings with planning consent30m (98ft)––Not reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

Which liveaboard moorings for boats over 24m in England have space now?

None of the 4 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Where can I keep a boat over 24m (79ft) in England?

All 4 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Blackwall Basin Moorings (38m (125ft)), Hartlepool Marina (50m (164ft)), Ocean Quay Marina (30m (98ft)) and Hull Waterside & Marina (30m (98ft)). Check beam and draught too.

Can you live aboard at liveaboard moorings for boats over 24m in England?

All 4 say you can: Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent), Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Ocean Quay Marina (liveaboard by arrangement) and Hull Waterside & Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability