Craighouse Moorings
Craighouse, Argyll and Bute · Small Isles Bay
Prices not published
Sites that sell diesel on site, at a fuel berth or from the boatyard.
40 sites · 2 with space now · 3 with a waiting list · typical £2,880 a year for a 10m boat (£273–£7,450 across 29 published tariffs)
Craighouse, Argyll and Bute · Small Isles Bay
Prices not published
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Tobermory, Argyll and Bute · Tobermory Bay
Prices not published
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£5,003 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth
£3,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£5,898 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£7,450 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Winchburgh, West Lothian · Union Canal
£4,895 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Brae, Shetland Islands · Busta Voe
Prices not published
Alexandria, West Dunbartonshire · Loch Lomond
Prices on request
Crinan, Argyll and Bute · Loch Crinan
Prices not published
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Dunstaffnage Bay, Firth of Lorn
Prices on request
Fairlie, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
Prices not published
Appin, Argyll and Bute · Loch Linnhe
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Diesel | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Craighouse Moorings | Craighouse, Small Isles Bay | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,350 | Yes | Waiting list |
| Tobermory Harbour | Tobermory, Tobermory Bay | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £580 | Yes | Waiting list |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | Yes | Not reported |
| Caley Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,880 | Yes | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £5,520 | Yes | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £4,530 | Yes | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | Yes | Not reported |
| Inverness Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth | £3,100 | Yes | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,180 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £4,620 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,751 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | Yes | Not reported |
| Leamington Wharf East | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £5,898 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £4,970 | Yes | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | Yes | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | Yes | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £5,110 | Yes | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | Yes | Not reported |
| Stromness Marina | Stromness, Stromness Harbour | £6,012 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,035 | Yes | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | Yes | Not reported |
| Viewforth Quay | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £7,450 | Yes | Not reported |
| Winchburgh Marina | Winchburgh, Union Canal | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | Yes | Not reported |
| Brae Marina | Brae, Busta Voe | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Cameron House Marina | Alexandria, Loch Lomond | On request | Yes | Not reported |
| Crinan Boatyard | Crinan, Loch Crinan | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Dunstaffnage Marina | Oban, Dunstaffnage Bay, Firth of Lorn | On request | Yes | Not reported |
| Fairlie Quay Marina | Fairlie, Firth of Clyde | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Linnhe Marina | Appin, Loch Linnhe | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | Dumbarton, River Leven | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 29 moorings with diesel here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £7,450 a year at Viewforth Quay. The middle figure is £2,880 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
2 of the 40 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Craighouse Moorings and Kilmelford Yacht Haven. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
7 of the 40 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Leamington Wharf East (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Viewforth Quay (liveaboards allowed) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 14 need a Scottish Canals licence, 2 need lake registration where the lake authority requires it and 9 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability