Kelpies Marina
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Sites that sell diesel on site, at a fuel berth or from the boatyard.
29 sites · 2 with a waiting list · typical £2,880 a year for a 10m boat (£273–£7,450 across 29 published tariffs)
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£5,003 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth
£3,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£5,898 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£7,450 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Per metre a year | Diesel | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | £27.26 | Yes | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | £35.20 | Yes | Not reported |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £580 | £58 | Yes | Waiting list |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | £75 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,035 | £103.49 | Yes | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | £128.50 | Yes | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | £150 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,751 | £175.14 | Yes | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | Yes | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | £206.97 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | £210.27 | Yes | Not reported |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,350 | £235 | Yes | Waiting list |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | £270.24 | Yes | Not reported |
| Caley Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,880 | £288 | Yes | Not reported |
| Inverness Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth | £3,100 | £310 | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | £310.79 | Yes | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,180 | £318 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | £374 | Yes | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | £444 | Yes | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £4,530 | £453 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £4,620 | £462 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £4,970 | £497 | Yes | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £5,110 | £511 | Yes | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £5,520 | £552 | Yes | Not reported |
| Leamington Wharf East | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £5,898 | £589.80 | Yes | Not reported |
| Stromness Marina | Stromness, Stromness Harbour | £6,012 | £601.20 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | £620.40 | Yes | Not reported |
| Viewforth Quay | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £7,450 | £745 | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 29 cheapest moorings with diesel here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £7,450 a year at Viewforth Quay. The middle figure is £2,880 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
None of the 29 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
7 of the 29 say you can: Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Leamington Wharf East (liveaboards allowed) and Viewforth Quay (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 13 need a Scottish Canals licence and 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability