Applecross Claypits
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Sites with a pump-out for holding tanks, so you can empty without cruising to a service point.
12 sites · typical £3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat (£273–£3,595 across 11 published tariffs)
Licence: Scottish Canals. About licences
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,794 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Course, length and connections from OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
| Site | Where | A year, 57ft narrowboat | Pump-out | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applecross Claypits | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | Yes | Not reported |
| Applecross Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,352 | Yes | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,054 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,042 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,936 | Yes | Not reported |
| Panmure Wharf, Firhill | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,794 | Yes | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,595 | Yes | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,054 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,798 | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 11 moorings with a pump-out here that publish a price, a 57ft narrowboat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £3,595 a year at Southbank Marina. The middle figure is £3,054 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 57ft narrowboat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
None of the 12 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
7 of the 12 say you can: Applecross Claypits (residential moorings with planning consent), Applecross Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Panmure Wharf, Firhill (liveaboards allowed), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 12 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability