Kilmelford Yacht Haven
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
13 sites · 2 with space now · typical £3,740 a year for a 12m boat (£352–£6,624 across 11 published tariffs)
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Port Ellen, Argyll and Bute · Port Ellen Harbour
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Berths | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £4,796 | pontoon berths | 16.5m (54ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | pontoon berths | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,118 | quay and harbour wall berths | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £6,624 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £5,328 | pontoon berths | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £6,132 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rothesay Marina | Rothesay, Rothesay Harbour | £4,104 | pontoon berths | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | pontoon berths | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,641 | pontoon berths | 14m (46ft) | 3.5m | – | Not reported |
| Port Ellen Marina | Port Ellen, Port Ellen Harbour | – | pontoon berths | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 11 walk-ashore berths for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £352 a year at Ulva Ferry Pontoon to £6,624 a year at Campbeltown Marina. The middle figure is £3,740 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Ulva Ferry Pontoon is cheapest at £352 a year.
2 of the 13 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven and Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 13 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Port Bannatyne Marina (16.5m (54ft)), Ardrishaig Basin (26.8m (88ft)), Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock (26.8m (88ft)), Campbeltown Marina (33m (108ft)), Holy Loch Marina (13m (43ft)), Kerrera Marina (22m (72ft)), Rhu Marina (36m (118ft)) and 5 more. Check beam and draught too.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 3 need a Scottish Canals licence and 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability