Kilmelford Yacht Haven
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
54 sites · 5 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £2,358 a year for a 12m boat (£78–£7,440 across 44 published tariffs)
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Nairn, Highland · Moray Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehills, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
£1,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Wick, Highland · North Sea
Prices not published
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour
Prices not published
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Berneray, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Sound of Harris
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway · River Dee
£1,871 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
Port Ellen, Argyll and Bute · Port Ellen Harbour
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Berths | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Nairn Harbour | Nairn, Moray Firth | £2,003 | pontoon berths | 12m (39ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £4,796 | pontoon berths | 16.5m (54ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Whitehills Marina | Whitehills, Moray Firth | £2,160 | pontoon berths | 12m (39ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Wick Marina | Wick, North Sea | – | pontoon berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £1,072 | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Stonehaven Harbour | Stonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | pontoon berths | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,118 | quay and harbour wall berths | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,110 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Berneray Harbour | Berneray, Sound of Harris | £652 | quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £1,072 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £6,624 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £5,436 | pontoon berths | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £124 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £3,250 | pontoon berths | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | £759 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,648 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £968 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £5,328 | pontoon berths | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £860 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,816 | pontoon berths | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £652 | quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £5,544 | pontoon berths, hard standing | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkcudbright Marina | Kirkcudbright, River Dee | £2,245 | pontoon berths | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,102 | linear moorings | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £7,440 | pontoon berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £2,046 | linear moorings | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Largs Yacht Haven | Largs, Firth of Clyde | £7,236 | pontoon berths, hard standing | 12.1m (40ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,523 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,337 | pontoon berths | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,800 | pontoon berths | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £860 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | – | pontoon berths | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | Reddingmuirhead, Union Canal | £1,081 | linear moorings | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £6,132 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rothesay Marina | Rothesay, Rothesay Harbour | £4,104 | pontoon berths | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 44 walk-ashore berths for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £7,440 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,358 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
5 of the 54 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven, Nairn Harbour, Port Bannatyne Marina, Whitehills Marina and Wick Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 54 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Nairn Harbour (12m (39ft)), Port Bannatyne Marina (16.5m (54ft)), Whitehills Marina (12m (39ft)), Wick Marina (20m (66ft)), Burghead Harbour (20m (66ft)), Stonehaven Harbour (20m (66ft)), Ardrishaig Basin (26.8m (88ft)) and 46 more. Check beam and draught too.
4 of the 54 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 15 need a Scottish Canals licence and 5 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability