Broads Marina (Wayford Bridge)
Wayford Bridge, Norfolk · River Ant
£1,600 a year for a 10m cruiser
Alongside a harbour wall or quay. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
41 sites · 3 with space now · 4 with a waiting list · typical £1,072 a year for a 12m boat (£78–£4,261 across 19 published tariffs)
Wayford Bridge, Norfolk · River Ant
£1,600 a year for a 10m cruiser
Brundall, Norfolk · River Yare
Prices on request
Torpoint, Cornwall · Plymouth Sound
£3,950 a year for a 10m yacht
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Newquay, Cornwall · Newquay Harbour
£1,246 a year for a 10m yacht
Truro, Cornwall · River Fal and Truro River
£509 a year for a 10m yacht
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour
Prices not published
Newry, Down · Newry Ship Canal
£527 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ballycastle, Antrim · North Channel
£1,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Berneray, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Sound of Harris
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Bideford, Devon · River Torridge
£500 a year for a 10m yacht
Bosham, West Sussex · Bosham Channel, Chichester Harbour
£2,597 a year for a 10m yacht
Bristol, Bristol · Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour
£3,551 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Heybridge Basin, Essex · Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation / Blackwater Estuary
£1,796 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Hugh Town, Isles of Scilly · St Mary's Harbour
£302 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehaven, Cumbria · Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour
£3,010 a year for a 10m yacht
Ballyhalbert, Down · Irish Sea
Prices not published
Donaghadee, Down · Irish Sea, Donaghadee Harbour
Prices not published
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
Nantwich, Cheshire · Shropshire Union Canal
Prices not published
Godalming, Surrey · Godalming Navigation
Prices not published
Ludham, Norfolk · River Thurne
Prices on request
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
Prices not published
Rochester, Kent · River Medway
Prices not published
Portrush, Antrim · North Atlantic Ocean
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Rochford, Essex · River Roach
Prices on request
Rochester, Kent · River Medway
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Berths | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Broads Marina (Wayford Bridge) | Wayford Bridge, River Ant | £1,920 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Brundall Gardens Marina | Brundall, River Yare | On request | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 19.8m (65ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Torpoint Yacht Harbour | Torpoint, Plymouth Sound | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings, drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £1,072 | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Newquay Harbour | Newquay, Newquay Harbour | – | swinging moorings, drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 12.2m (40ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Port of Truro | Truro, River Fal and Truro River | £611 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Stonehaven Harbour | Stonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Albert Basin | Newry, Newry Ship Canal | £527 | quay and harbour wall berths | 60m (197ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,118 | quay and harbour wall berths | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ballycastle Marina & Harbour | Ballycastle, North Channel | £1,872 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Berneray Harbour | Berneray, Sound of Harris | £652 | quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bideford Harbour | Bideford, River Torridge | £600 | linear moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 50m (164ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bosham Quay and Moorings | Bosham, Bosham Channel, Chichester Harbour | £3,186 | swinging moorings, drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bristol Marina | Bristol, Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour | £4,261 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 21m (69ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £1,072 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £124 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £968 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Heybridge Basin Moorings | Heybridge Basin, Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation / Blackwater Estuary | £2,156 | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £1,072 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £652 | quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £1,072 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| St Mary's Harbour | Hugh Town, St Mary's Harbour | – | swinging moorings, drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Whitehaven Marina | Whitehaven, Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 65m (213ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Ballyhalbert Harbour | Ballyhalbert, Irish Sea | – | quay and harbour wall berths | 12m (39ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Donaghadee Harbour | Donaghadee, Irish Sea, Donaghadee Harbour | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 12m (39ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Johnshaven Harbour | Johnshaven, North Sea, Johnshaven | – | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Nantwich & Border Counties Yacht Club | Nantwich, Shropshire Union Canal | £1,080 | linear moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 12.2m (40ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| National Trust Godalming Wharf Moorings | Godalming, Godalming Navigation | – | linear moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Norfolk Broads Yachting Company Marina | Ludham, River Thurne | On request | quay and harbour wall berths | 13.7m (45ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Poole Quay Boat Haven | Poole, Poole Harbour | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Medway Marina | Rochester, River Medway | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portrush Harbour | Portrush, North Atlantic Ocean | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rosehearty Harbour | Rosehearty, North Sea | – | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
| Sutton Wharf Boatyard | Rochford, River Roach | On request | pontoon berths, swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 24.4m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 19 quay and harbour wall berths for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £4,261 a year at Bristol Marina. The middle figure is £1,072 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
3 of the 41 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Broads Marina (Wayford Bridge), Brundall Gardens Marina and Torpoint Yacht Harbour. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 41 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Broads Marina (Wayford Bridge) (14m (46ft)), Brundall Gardens Marina (19.8m (65ft)), Torpoint Yacht Harbour (14m (46ft)), Burghead Harbour (20m (66ft)), Newquay Harbour (12.2m (40ft)), Port of Truro (20m (66ft)), Stonehaven Harbour (20m (66ft)), Albert Basin (60m (197ft)) and 32 more. Check beam and draught too.
4 of the 41 say you can: Bristol Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement), Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways), 3 need Broads Authority tolls, 2 need a Scottish Canals licence and 3 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability