Liveaboard moorings on the River Thames

Moorings where the site says you can live on board, outright or by arrangement. Residential moorings often need planning consent and pay council tax; we show the terms as each site states them.

6 sites · 1 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £5,245 a year for a 10m boat (£4,880–£5,609 across 2 published tariffs)

Licence: Environment Agency. About licences

At a glance

Rivers Berths available

Upper Large Moorings

Tilehurst, Berkshire · River Thames

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers Waiting list

South Dock Marina

London, Greater London · River Thames

£5,609 a year for a 10m yacht

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Rivers Waiting list

Thames Ditton Marina

Surbiton, Surrey · River Thames

£4,880 a year for a 10m cruiser

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers Full

Chiswick Quay Marina

London, Greater London · River Thames

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Course, length and connections from OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Compared: prices for a 10m boat

SiteWhereA year, 10m boatLiveaboardSpace
Upper Large MooringsTilehurst, River Thames–Liveaboards allowedBerths available
South Dock MarinaLondon, River Thames£5,609Liveaboards allowedWaiting list
Thames Ditton MarinaSurbiton, River Thames£4,880Liveaboard by arrangementWaiting list
Chiswick Quay MarinaLondon, River Thames–Liveaboards allowedFull
Limehouse Waterside & MarinaLondon, River Thames–Liveaboards allowedNot reported
Poplar Waterside & MarinaLondon, River ThamesOn requestResidential moorings with planning consentNot reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 10m boat cost on the River Thames?

Across the 2 liveaboard moorings here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £4,880 a year at Thames Ditton Marina to £5,609 a year at South Dock Marina. The middle figure is £5,245 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest liveaboard moorings on the River Thames?

For a 10m boat, Thames Ditton Marina is cheapest at £4,880 a year in Surbiton.

Which liveaboard moorings on the River Thames have space now?

1 of the 6 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Upper Large Moorings. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.

Can you live aboard at liveaboard moorings on the River Thames?

All 6 say you can: Upper Large Moorings (liveaboards allowed), South Dock Marina (liveaboards allowed), Thames Ditton Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Chiswick Quay Marina (liveaboards allowed), Limehouse Waterside & Marina (liveaboards allowed) and Poplar Waterside & Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways) and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Liveaboard moorings on other waterways

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability