Lydney Harbour
Lydney, Gloucestershire · River Severn
£849 a year for a 10m yacht
Places that take small boats. Dinghies, day boats and RIBs. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 24m (80ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Large yacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early.
10 sites · 1 with space now · typical £7,106 a year for a 24m boat (£302–£33,451 across 8 published tariffs)
Lydney, Gloucestershire · River Severn
£849 a year for a 10m yacht
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£6,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Hugh Town, Isles of Scilly · St Mary's Harbour
£302 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Torquay, Devon · Tor Bay
£11,232 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehaven, Cumbria · Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour
£3,010 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 24m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lydney Harbour | Lydney, River Severn | £2,038 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Blackwall Basin Moorings | London, Blackwall Basin | On request | 38m (125ft) | – | – | Full |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £6,500 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | £6,840 | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £11,088 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | – | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| St Mary's Harbour | Hugh Town, St Mary's Harbour | £302 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £7,656 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Torquay Marina | Torquay, Tor Bay | £33,451 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Whitehaven Marina | Whitehaven, Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour | £7,373 | 65m (213ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 8 small boat moorings for boats over 24m here that publish a price, a 24m boat costs from £302 a year at St Mary's Harbour to £33,451 a year at Torquay Marina. The middle figure is £7,106 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 24m boat, St Mary's Harbour is cheapest at £302 a year in Hugh Town.
1 of the 10 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Lydney Harbour. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 10 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Lydney Harbour (25m (82ft)), Blackwall Basin Moorings (38m (125ft)), Fort Augustus (45m (148ft)), Hartlepool Marina (50m (164ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)), Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina (30.5m (100ft)), St Mary's Harbour (24m (79ft)), Tarbert Harbour (30m (98ft)) and 2 more. Check beam and draught too.
2 of the 10 say you can: Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent) and Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways) and 1 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability