Bates Wharf
Chertsey, Surrey · River Thames
£5,100 a year for a 10m cruiser
Canals, rivers, the Broads and lakes: fresh water, no tides, and a navigation licence from the authority that runs the water. Sites with a chandlery on site for parts, paint and gear.
20 sites · 6 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £3,833 a year for a 10m boat (£543–£8,778 across 12 published tariffs)
Chertsey, Surrey · River Thames
£5,100 a year for a 10m cruiser
Reading, Berkshire · River Thames
Prices on request
Shepperton, Surrey · River Thames
£7,200 a year for a 10m cruiser
Yalding, Kent · River Medway
£1,823 a year for a 10m cruiser
Tilehurst, Berkshire · River Thames
Prices not published
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire · Grand Union Canal
Prices not published
Bourne End, Buckinghamshire · River Thames
Prices not published
Maidstone, Kent · River Medway
£3,691 a year for a 10m cruiser
Bray, Berkshire · River Thames
£8,778 a year for a 10m cruiser
Leighton Buzzard, Buckinghamshire · Grand Union Canal
£4,603 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Marlow, Buckinghamshire · River Thames
£3,938 a year for a 10m cruiser
Southwick, West Sussex · Shoreham Ship Canal
£543 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Pyrford, Surrey · River Wey Navigation
£3,729 a year for a 10m cruiser
Reading, Oxfordshire · River Thames
£4,501 a year for a 10m cruiser
Walton-on-Thames, Surrey · River Thames
£5,124 a year for a 10m cruiser
Aldermaston, Berkshire · Kennet and Avon Canal
Prices not published
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex · Shoreham Port Canal
Prices not published
Newbury, Berkshire · Kennet Navigation
Prices on request
Eynsham, Oxfordshire · River Thames
Prices on request
Banbury, Oxfordshire · Oxford Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Chandlery | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bates Wharf | Chertsey, River Thames | £5,100 | Yes | Berths available |
| Better Boating Co. | Reading, River Thames | On request | Yes | Berths available |
| Shepperton Marina | Shepperton, River Thames | £7,200 | Yes | Berths available |
| Twyford Bridge Marina | Yalding, River Medway | £1,823 | Yes | Berths available |
| Upper Large Moorings | Tilehurst, River Thames | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Willowbridge Marina | Milton Keynes, Grand Union Canal | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Bourne End Marina | Bourne End, River Thames | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Allington Marina | Maidstone, River Medway | £3,691 | Yes | Not reported |
| Bray Marina | Bray, River Thames | £8,778 | Yes | Not reported |
| Grove Lock Marina | Leighton Buzzard, Grand Union Canal | £2,665 | Yes | Not reported |
| Harleyford Marina | Marlow, River Thames | £3,938 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lady Bee Marina | Southwick, Shoreham Ship Canal | £543 | Yes | Not reported |
| Pyrford Marina | Pyrford, River Wey Navigation | £3,729 | Yes | Not reported |
| Thames and Kennet Marina | Reading, River Thames | £4,501 | Yes | Not reported |
| Walton Marina | Walton-on-Thames, River Thames | £5,124 | Yes | Not reported |
| Frouds Bridge Marina | Aldermaston, Kennet and Avon Canal | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Lady Bee Marina | Shoreham-by-Sea, Shoreham Port Canal | £3,340 | Yes | Not reported |
| Newbury Marina | Newbury, Kennet Navigation | On request | Yes | Not reported |
| Oxford Cruisers | Eynsham, River Thames | On request | Yes | Not reported |
| Sovereign Wharf | Banbury, Oxford Canal | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 12 inland moorings with a chandlery here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £543 a year at Lady Bee Marina to £8,778 a year at Bray Marina. The middle figure is £3,833 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Lady Bee Marina is cheapest at £543 a year in Southwick.
6 of the 20 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Bates Wharf, Better Boating Co., Shepperton Marina, Twyford Bridge Marina, Upper Large Moorings and Willowbridge Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
2 of the 20 say you can: Upper Large Moorings (liveaboards allowed) and Grove Lock Marina (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 4 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 12 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways) and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability