Auchinstarry Marina
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Places that take widebeams. Canal boats over 7ft beam. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
10 sites · typical £2,110 a year for a 12m boat (£273–£5,964 across 9 published tariffs)
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,110 | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,102 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £5,964 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,337 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | – | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,484 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,242 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £3,243 | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 9 widebeam moorings for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £5,964 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £2,110 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
None of the 10 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 10 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Auchinstarry Marina (19m (62ft)), Kelpies Marina (19m (62ft)), Kirkintilloch Linear (19m (62ft)), Lochrin Basin (19m (62ft)), Lock 16 Moorings (19m (62ft)), Ratho Marina (19m (62ft)), Southbank Marina (19m (62ft)), Speirs Wharf (19m (62ft)) and 2 more. Check beam and draught too.
6 of the 10 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 10 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability