Cathedral Marina
Ely, Cambridgeshire · River Great Ouse
Prices on request
Places that take widebeams. Canal boats over 7ft beam. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
25 sites · 4 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £2,755 a year for a 12m boat (£273–£5,964 across 16 published tariffs)
Ely, Cambridgeshire · River Great Ouse
Prices on request
Waltham Abbey, Essex · Lee Navigation
Prices not published
Selby, North Yorkshire · Selby Canal
£2,750 a year for a 57ft narrowboat (from)
Tilehurst, Berkshire · River Thames
Prices not published
Sileby, Leicestershire · River Soar
Prices on request
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Marlow, Buckinghamshire · River Thames
£3,938 a year for a 10m cruiser
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
March, Cambridgeshire · River Nene Old Course
£1,520 a year for a 10m cruiser
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Pyrford, Surrey · River Wey Navigation
£3,729 a year for a 10m cruiser
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Saltford, Somerset · River Avon
£2,696 a year for a 10m cruiser
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Thorne, South Yorkshire · Stainforth & Keadby Canal
£3,995 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Teynham, Kent · Conyer Creek and the Swale
£2,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Pershore, Worcestershire · River Avon
Prices on request
Newbury, Berkshire · Kennet Navigation
Prices on request
Long Eaton, Leicestershire · River Trent
Prices on request
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Woodford, Northamptonshire · River Nene
Prices on request
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cathedral Marina | Ely, River Great Ouse | On request | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Hazlemere Marina | Waltham Abbey, Lee Navigation | – | 18.3m (60ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Selby Boat Centre | Selby, Selby Canal | from £2,750 | 18.9m (62ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Upper Large Moorings | Tilehurst, River Thames | – | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Sileby Mill Mooring Basin | Sileby, River Soar | On request | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,110 | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Harleyford Marina | Marlow, River Thames | £4,725 | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,102 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Knightsbridge Caravan & Marina Park | March, River Nene Old Course | £1,764 | 19.8m (65ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £5,964 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,337 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Pyrford Marina | Pyrford, River Wey Navigation | £4,474 | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | – | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Saltford Marina | Saltford, River Avon | £3,268 | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,484 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Staniland Marina | Thorne, Stainforth & Keadby Canal | £2,760 | 18.3m (60ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Swale Marina | Teynham, Conyer Creek and the Swale | £3,276 | 13.7m (45ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,242 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Avon View Marina | Pershore, River Avon | On request | 21m (69ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Newbury Marina | Newbury, Kennet Navigation | On request | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sawley Waterside & Marina | Long Eaton, River Trent | On request | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £3,243 | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
| Woodford Riverside Marina | Woodford, River Nene | On request | 22.9m (75ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 16 widebeam moorings for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £5,964 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £2,755 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
4 of the 25 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Cathedral Marina, Hazlemere Marina, Selby Boat Centre and Upper Large Moorings. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 25 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Cathedral Marina (21.3m (70ft)), Hazlemere Marina (18.3m (60ft)), Selby Boat Centre (18.9m (62ft)), Upper Large Moorings (21.3m (70ft)), Sileby Mill Mooring Basin (21.9m (72ft)), Auchinstarry Marina (19m (62ft)), Harleyford Marina (13m (43ft)), Kelpies Marina (19m (62ft)) and 17 more. Check beam and draught too.
14 of the 25 say you can: Hazlemere Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Selby Boat Centre (liveaboards allowed), Upper Large Moorings (liveaboards allowed), Sileby Mill Mooring Basin (liveaboards allowed), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Saltford Marina (liveaboards allowed) and 6 more. Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 7 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways), 10 need a Scottish Canals licence, 2 need an Avon Navigation Trust licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability