Fort Augustus
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Places that take small boats. Dinghies, day boats and RIBs. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 15m (50ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
11 sites · typical £2,813 a year for a 15m boat (£78–£6,930 across 8 published tariffs)
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 15m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £4,062 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £1,210 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £6,930 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £3,154 | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £4,785 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Johnshaven Harbour | Johnshaven, North Sea, Johnshaven | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rosehearty Harbour | Rosehearty, North Sea | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 8 small boat moorings for boats over 15m here that publish a price, a 15m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,930 a year at Kip Marina. The middle figure is £2,813 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 15m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
None of the 11 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 11 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Fort Augustus (45m (148ft)), Girvan Harbour (17m (56ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)), Lerwick Port Authority (15m (49ft)), Lochaline Harbour (15m (49ft)), Lochboisdale Harbour (18m (59ft)), Tarbert Harbour (30m (98ft)), Ulva Ferry Pontoon (16m (52ft)) and 3 more. Check beam and draught too.
1 of the 11 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Scottish Canals licence and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability