Quay and harbour wall berths for boats over 15m in Scotland

Alongside a harbour wall or quay. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 15m (50ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.

14 sites · 2 with a waiting list · typical £1,340 a year for a 15m boat (£78–£3,897 across 8 published tariffs)

At a glance

Coast & harbours Waiting list

Burghead Harbour

Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth

£893 a year for a 10m yacht

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Coast & harbours Waiting list

Stonehaven Harbour

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Coast & harbours

Buckie Harbour

Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth

£893 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Eyemouth Harbour

Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour

£103 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Girvan Harbour

Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde

£807 a year for a 10m yacht

Liveaboard

Coast & harbours

Hopeman Harbour

Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth

£717 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Lochboisdale Harbour

Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale

£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Portknockie Harbour

Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth

£717 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Gourdon Harbour

Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour

Prices not published

Coast & harbours

Johnshaven Harbour

Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven

Prices not published

Coast & harbours

Rosehearty Harbour

Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea

Prices not published

Canals

Seaport Marina

Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal

Prices not published

Liveaboard

Compared: prices for a 15m boat

SiteWhereA year, 15m boatBerthsLongest boatWidest beamDeepest draughtSpace
Burghead HarbourBurghead, Moray Firth£1,340quay and harbour wall berths20m (66ft)––Waiting list
Stonehaven HarbourStonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour–swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths20m (66ft)––Waiting list
Ardrishaig Basin Dummy LockArdrishaig, Crinan Canal£3,897quay and harbour wall berths26.8m (88ft)––Not reported
Buckie HarbourBuckie, Moray Firth£1,340pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths20m (66ft)––Not reported
Eyemouth HarbourEyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour£155pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths20m (66ft)––Not reported
Girvan HarbourGirvan, Firth of Clyde£1,210pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths17m (56ft)––Not reported
Hopeman HarbourHopeman, Moray Firth£1,340pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing20m (66ft)––Not reported
Lerwick Port AuthorityLerwick, Lerwick Harbour£78pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths15m (49ft)––Not reported
Lochboisdale HarbourLochboisdale, Lochboisdale–pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths18m (59ft)––Not reported
Portknockie HarbourPortknockie, Moray Firth£1,340pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing20m (66ft)––Not reported
Gourdon HarbourGourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour–drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths20m (66ft)––Not reported
Johnshaven HarbourJohnshaven, North Sea, Johnshaven–quay and harbour wall berths20m (66ft)––Not reported
Rosehearty HarbourRosehearty, North Sea–quay and harbour wall berths20m (66ft)––Not reported
Seaport MarinaInverness, Caledonian Canal–pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths16m (52ft)4m–Not reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 15m boat cost in Scotland?

Across the 8 quay and harbour wall berths for boats over 15m here that publish a price, a 15m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £3,897 a year at Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock. The middle figure is £1,340 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest quay and harbour wall berths for boats over 15m in Scotland?

For a 15m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.

Which quay and harbour wall berths for boats over 15m in Scotland have space now?

None of the 14 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Where can I keep a boat over 15m (49ft) in Scotland?

All 14 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Burghead Harbour (20m (66ft)), Stonehaven Harbour (20m (66ft)), Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock (26.8m (88ft)), Buckie Harbour (20m (66ft)), Eyemouth Harbour (20m (66ft)), Girvan Harbour (17m (56ft)), Hopeman Harbour (20m (66ft)), Lerwick Port Authority (15m (49ft)) and 6 more. Check beam and draught too.

Can you live aboard at quay and harbour wall berths for boats over 15m in Scotland?

2 of the 14 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Quay and harbour wall berths for boats over 15m in other areas

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability