Dysart Harbour
Dysart, Fife · Firth of Forth
Prices not published
Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers. Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark.
39 sites · 2 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £2,070 a year for a 10m cruiser (£78–£6,204 across 29 published tariffs)
Dysart, Fife · Firth of Forth
Prices not published
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross · Loch Tay
Prices on request
Tayport, Fife · River Tay estuary
Prices not published
Tobermory, Argyll and Bute · Tobermory Bay
Prices not published
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,518 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Benderloch, Argyll and Bute · Loch Creran
Prices not published
Cullen, Moray · Cullen Harbour
Prices not published
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Granton Harbour
Prices not published
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m cruiser | Berths | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dysart Harbour | Dysart, Firth of Forth | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | A few berths left |
| Taymouth Marina | Kenmore, Loch Tay | On request | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Berths available |
| Tayport Harbour | Tayport, River Tay estuary | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Waiting list |
| Tobermory Harbour | Tobermory, Tobermory Bay | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Waiting list |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,165 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
| Cairnbaan Lock 5 | Cairnbaan, Crinan Canal | £2,025 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £2,708 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,207 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £4,440 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £413 | quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,751 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £1,705 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,115 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | £2,630 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | Reddingmuirhead, Union Canal | £901 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,035 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,201 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Creran Moorings | Benderloch, Loch Creran | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Cullen Harbour | Cullen, Cullen Harbour | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Edinburgh Marina | Edinburgh, Granton Harbour | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Rosehearty Harbour | Rosehearty, North Sea | – | quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 29 cruiser moorings with walk-ashore berths here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,070 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m cruiser, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
2 of the 39 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Dysart Harbour and Taymouth Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
3 of the 39 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 16 need a Scottish Canals licence, 1 need lake registration where the lake authority requires it and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability