Lerwick Port Authority
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Places that take small boats. Dinghies, day boats and RIBs.
20 sites · 2 with a waiting list · typical £1,206 a year for a 6m boat (£45–£2,472 across 20 published tariffs)
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Cockenzie, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£480 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · North Sea, Dunbar Harbour
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,598 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,918 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
South Queensferry, City of Edinburgh · Firth of Forth
£3,156 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 6m boat | Per metre a year | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £45 | £7.44 | Not reported |
| Cockenzie Harbour | Cockenzie, Firth of Forth | £288 | £48 | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £336 | £56 | Not reported |
| Broad Haven (Dunbar Harbour) | Dunbar, North Sea, Dunbar Harbour | £348 | £58 | Not reported |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £348 | £58 | Waiting list |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | £58.67 | Not reported |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £390 | £65 | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £484 | £80.65 | Not reported |
| Stornoway Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £959 | £159.84 | Not reported |
| Newton Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,151 | £191.81 | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £1,262 | £210.27 | Not reported |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £1,410 | £235 | Waiting list |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £1,520 | £253.33 | Not reported |
| Troon Yacht Haven | Troon, Firth of Clyde | £1,520 | £253.33 | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £1,625 | £270.82 | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | £280 | Not reported |
| Largs Yacht Haven | Largs, Firth of Clyde | £1,848 | £308 | Not reported |
| Port Edgar Marina | South Queensferry, Firth of Forth | £1,894 | £315.60 | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £1,920 | £320 | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | £412 | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 20 cheapest small boat moorings here that publish a price, a 6m boat costs from £45 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £2,472 a year at Lochaline Harbour. The middle figure is £1,206 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 6m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £45 a year.
None of the 20 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
1 of the 20 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability