Lerwick Port Authority
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Walk-ashore berth alongside a floating pontoon, usually in a marina.
54 sites · 3 with space now · typical £2,204 a year for a 10m boat (£78–£6,204 across 54 published tariffs)
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Cockenzie, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£480 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Nairn, Highland · Moray Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,598 a year for a 10m yacht
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Whitehills, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
£1,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Arbroath, Angus · North Sea coast, Angus
£1,810 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,185 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway · River Dee
£1,871 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,918 a year for a 10m yacht
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,518 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Portavadie, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£2,772 a year for a 10m cruiser
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£5,003 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth
£3,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort William, Highland · Loch Linnhe
£4,050 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
South Queensferry, City of Edinburgh · Firth of Forth
£3,156 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute · Loch Craignish
£3,020 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Per metre a year | Berths | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | £7.77 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £103 | £10.32 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | £35.20 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | £403 | £40.30 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Cockenzie Harbour | Cockenzie, Firth of Forth | £480 | £48 | pontoon berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | £65 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | £75 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £807 | £80.65 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £1,069 | £106.94 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £1,069 | £106.94 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £1,069 | £106.94 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,115 | £111.45 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | £150 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Nairn Harbour | Nairn, Moray Firth | £1,545 | £154.50 | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Stornoway Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,598 | £159.84 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Whitehills Marina | Whitehills, Moray Firth | £1,800 | £180 | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Arbroath Harbour | Arbroath, North Sea coast, Angus | £1,810 | £181 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Oakfield Bridge | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £1,834 | £183.36 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Kirkcudbright Marina | Kirkcudbright, River Dee | £1,871 | £187.05 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Newton Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,918 | £191.81 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Cairnbaan Lock 5 | Cairnbaan, Crinan Canal | £2,025 | £202.51 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | £206.97 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | £210.27 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,165 | £216.53 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,201 | £220.08 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,207 | £220.67 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | £247.20 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | £2,630 | £263.02 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | £270.24 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £2,708 | £270.82 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Portavadie Marina | Portavadie, Loch Fyne | £2,772 | £277.20 | pontoon berths | Full |
| Caley Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,880 | £288 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Inverness Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth | £3,100 | £310 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Applecross Claypits | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | £310.40 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | £310.79 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,180 | £318 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £3,190 | £319 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Rothesay Marina | Rothesay, Rothesay Harbour | £3,420 | £342 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 54 cheapest pontoon berths here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,204 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
3 of the 54 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Nairn Harbour, Whitehills Marina and Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
5 of the 54 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Applecross Claypits (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 16 need a Scottish Canals licence and 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability