Eyemouth Harbour
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Berths with shore power, so you can run heating and charge batteries without the engine.
60 sites · 2 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £2,614 a year for a 10m boat (£103–£7,450 across 60 published tariffs)
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,598 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Whitehills, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
£1,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Arbroath, Angus · North Sea coast, Angus
£1,810 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway · River Dee
£1,871 a year for a 10m yacht
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,518 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lossiemouth, Moray · Moray Firth
£2,157 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Banavie, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,356 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,794 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£5,003 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute · Loch Craignish
£3,020 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth
£3,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Broxburn, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,477 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort William, Highland · Loch Linnhe
£4,050 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£5,898 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Pierowall, Orkney Islands · Pierowall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£7,450 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Per metre a year | Electric hook-up | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £103 | £10.32 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | £27.26 | Yes | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | £35.20 | Yes | Not reported |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £580 | £58 | Yes | Waiting list |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | £65 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | £75 | Yes | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £807 | £80.65 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,035 | £103.49 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,115 | £111.45 | Yes | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | £128.50 | Yes | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | £150 | Yes | Not reported |
| Stornoway Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,598 | £159.84 | Yes | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | £168 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,751 | £175.14 | Yes | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | Yes | Not reported |
| Whitehills Marina | Whitehills, Moray Firth | £1,800 | £180 | Yes | Berths available |
| Arbroath Harbour | Arbroath, North Sea coast, Angus | £1,810 | £181 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkcudbright Marina | Kirkcudbright, River Dee | £1,871 | £187.05 | Yes | Not reported |
| Cairnbaan Lock 5 | Cairnbaan, Crinan Canal | £2,025 | £202.51 | Yes | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | £206.97 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | £210.27 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lossiemouth Marina | Lossiemouth, Moray Firth | £2,157 | £215.71 | Yes | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,165 | £216.53 | Yes | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,201 | £220.08 | Yes | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,207 | £220.67 | Yes | Not reported |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,350 | £235 | Yes | Waiting list |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | £247.20 | Yes | Not reported |
| Banavie | Banavie, Caledonian Canal | £2,508 | £250.75 | Yes | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | £259.83 | Yes | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | £2,630 | £263.02 | Yes | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | £270.24 | Yes | Not reported |
| Panmure Wharf, Firhill | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,794 | £279.40 | Yes | Not reported |
| Caley Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,880 | £288 | Yes | Not reported |
| Ardfern Yacht Centre | Ardfern, Loch Craignish | £3,020 | £302 | Yes | Not reported |
| Inverness Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth | £3,100 | £310 | Yes | Not reported |
| Applecross Claypits | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | £310.40 | Yes | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | £310.40 | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | £310.79 | Yes | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,180 | £318 | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 60 cheapest moorings with electric hook-up here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £103 a year at Eyemouth Harbour to £7,450 a year at Viewforth Quay. The middle figure is £2,614 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Eyemouth Harbour is cheapest at £103 a year.
2 of the 60 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Whitehills Marina and Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
14 of the 60 say you can: Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Panmure Wharf, Firhill (liveaboards allowed), Applecross Claypits (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and 6 more. Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 27 need a Scottish Canals licence and 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability