Blackwall Basin Moorings
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
Places that take small boats. Dinghies, day boats and RIBs. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 30m (100ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Superyacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early.
5 sites · typical £9,216 a year for a 30m boat (£8,550–£41,814 across 3 published tariffs)
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£6,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Torquay, Devon · Tor Bay
£11,232 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehaven, Cumbria · Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour
£3,010 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 30m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blackwall Basin Moorings | London, Blackwall Basin | On request | 38m (125ft) | – | – | Full |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | £8,550 | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | – | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Torquay Marina | Torquay, Tor Bay | £41,814 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Whitehaven Marina | Whitehaven, Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour | £9,216 | 65m (213ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 3 small boat moorings for boats over 30m here that publish a price, a 30m boat costs from £8,550 a year at Hartlepool Marina to £41,814 a year at Torquay Marina. The middle figure is £9,216 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 30m boat, Hartlepool Marina is cheapest at £8,550 a year.
None of the 5 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 5 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Blackwall Basin Moorings (38m (125ft)), Hartlepool Marina (50m (164ft)), Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina (30.5m (100ft)), Torquay Marina (30m (98ft)) and Whitehaven Marina (65m (213ft)). Check beam and draught too.
2 of the 5 say you can: Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent) and Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability