Burghead Harbour
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Alongside a harbour wall or quay. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
25 sites · 3 with a waiting list · typical £1,786 a year for a 20m boat (£206–£7,101 across 13 published tariffs)
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Truro, Cornwall · River Fal and Truro River
£509 a year for a 10m yacht
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour
Prices not published
Newry, Down · Newry Ship Canal
£527 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ballycastle, Antrim · North Channel
£1,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Bideford, Devon · River Torridge
£500 a year for a 10m yacht
Bristol, Bristol · Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour
£3,551 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Heybridge Basin, Essex · Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation / Blackwater Estuary
£1,796 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Hugh Town, Isles of Scilly · St Mary's Harbour
£302 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehaven, Cumbria · Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour
£3,010 a year for a 10m yacht
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
Godalming, Surrey · Godalming Navigation
Prices not published
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
Prices not published
Rochester, Kent · River Medway
Prices not published
Portrush, Antrim · North Atlantic Ocean
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Rochford, Essex · River Roach
Prices on request
Rochester, Kent · River Medway
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 20m boat | Berths | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £1,786 | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Port of Truro | Truro, River Fal and Truro River | £1,018 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Stonehaven Harbour | Stonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Albert Basin | Newry, Newry Ship Canal | £527 | quay and harbour wall berths | 60m (197ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £5,197 | quay and harbour wall berths | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ballycastle Marina & Harbour | Ballycastle, North Channel | £3,120 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bideford Harbour | Bideford, River Torridge | £1,000 | linear moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 50m (164ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bristol Marina | Bristol, Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour | £7,101 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 21m (69ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £1,786 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £206 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Heybridge Basin Moorings | Heybridge Basin, Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation / Blackwater Estuary | £3,593 | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £1,786 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £1,786 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| St Mary's Harbour | Hugh Town, St Mary's Harbour | – | swinging moorings, drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Whitehaven Marina | Whitehaven, Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 65m (213ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Johnshaven Harbour | Johnshaven, North Sea, Johnshaven | – | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| National Trust Godalming Wharf Moorings | Godalming, Godalming Navigation | – | linear moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Poole Quay Boat Haven | Poole, Poole Harbour | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Medway Marina | Rochester, River Medway | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portrush Harbour | Portrush, North Atlantic Ocean | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rosehearty Harbour | Rosehearty, North Sea | – | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sutton Wharf Boatyard | Rochford, River Roach | On request | pontoon berths, swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 24.4m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Trechmanns Wharf | Rochester, River Medway | £3,000 | quay and harbour wall berths | – | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 13 quay and harbour wall berths for boats over 20m here that publish a price, a 20m boat costs from £206 a year at Eyemouth Harbour to £7,101 a year at Bristol Marina. The middle figure is £1,786 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 20m boat, Eyemouth Harbour is cheapest at £206 a year.
None of the 25 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 25 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Burghead Harbour (20m (66ft)), Port of Truro (20m (66ft)), Stonehaven Harbour (20m (66ft)), Albert Basin (60m (197ft)), Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock (26.8m (88ft)), Ballycastle Marina & Harbour (20m (66ft)), Bideford Harbour (50m (164ft)), Bristol Marina (21m (69ft)) and 16 more. Check beam and draught too.
2 of the 25 say you can: Bristol Marina (liveaboard by arrangement) and Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways), 1 need a Scottish Canals licence and 3 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability