Belfast Harbour Marina
Belfast, Down · Belfast Lough
£2,745 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours on the open coast, from walk-ashore pontoons with lock gates or sills to harbour walls and fore-and-aft moorings. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
42 sites · 5 with space now · 3 with a waiting list · typical £8,760 a year for a 20m boat (£206–£27,876 across 31 published tariffs)
Belfast, Down · Belfast Lough
£2,745 a year for a 10m yacht
Dover, Kent · English Channel
£3,450 a year for a 10m yacht
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Swansea, West Glamorgan · Swansea Bay
Prices on request
Wick, Highland · North Sea
Prices not published
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Minehead, Somerset · Bristol Channel, Minehead Harbour
£644 a year for a 10m yacht
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour
Prices not published
Ballycastle, Antrim · North Channel
£1,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Brighton, East Sussex · English Channel (Sussex coast)
£5,480 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,650 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Plymouth, Devon · Plymouth Sound, Millbay
£5,590 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Plymouth, Devon · Plymouth Sound
£5,920 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
£11,510 a year for a 10m yacht
Portishead, North Somerset · Bristol Channel
£4,690 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Hugh Town, Isles of Scilly · St Mary's Harbour
£302 a year for a 10m yacht
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Torquay, Devon · Tor Bay
£11,232 a year for a 10m yacht
Pierowall, Orkney Islands · Pierowall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Weymouth, Dorset · Weymouth Harbour
£4,380 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehaven, Cumbria · Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour
£3,010 a year for a 10m yacht
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Holyhead, Gwynedd · Holyhead Harbour
Prices on request
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
Milford Haven, Dyfed · Milford Haven Waterway
Prices on request
Portrush, Antrim · North Atlantic Ocean
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 20m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Belfast Harbour Marina | Belfast, Belfast Lough | £5,490 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Dover Marina | Dover, English Channel | £6,900 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Swansea Marina | Swansea, Swansea Bay | On request | 21m (69ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Wick Marina | Wick, North Sea | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £1,786 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Minehead Harbour | Minehead, Bristol Channel, Minehead Harbour | £1,288 | 75m (246ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Stonehaven Harbour | Stonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Ballycastle Marina & Harbour | Ballycastle, North Channel | £3,120 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Brighton Marina | Brighton, English Channel (Sussex coast) | £14,300 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £1,786 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £11,040 | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £9,060 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £206 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gunwharf Quays Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £16,000 | 80m (262ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | £5,700 | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Haslar Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | £15,960 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £1,433 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £6,580 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| King Point Marina | Plymouth, Plymouth Sound, Millbay | £11,180 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £9,240 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £12,396 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Mayflower Marina | Plymouth, Plymouth Sound | £11,840 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £3,000 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Solent Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £17,400 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port of Poole Marina | Poole, Poole Harbour | £23,020 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portishead Marina | Portishead, Bristol Channel | £9,380 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £1,433 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| St Mary's Harbour | Hugh Town, St Mary's Harbour | £302 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Stromness Marina | Stromness, Stromness Harbour | £12,024 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £6,380 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Torquay Marina | Torquay, Tor Bay | £27,876 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Westray Marina | Pierowall, Pierowall Harbour | £12,396 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Weymouth Harbour | Weymouth, Weymouth Harbour | £8,760 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Whitehaven Marina | Whitehaven, Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour | £6,144 | 65m (213ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Holyhead Marina | Holyhead, Holyhead Harbour | On request | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Johnshaven Harbour | Johnshaven, North Sea, Johnshaven | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Milford Marina | Milford Haven, Milford Haven Waterway | On request | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 31 coastal marinas and harbour moorings for boats over 20m here that publish a price, a 20m boat costs from £206 a year at Eyemouth Harbour to £27,876 a year at Torquay Marina. The middle figure is £8,760 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 20m boat, Eyemouth Harbour is cheapest at £206 a year.
5 of the 42 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Belfast Harbour Marina, Dover Marina, Kilmelford Yacht Haven, Swansea Marina and Wick Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 42 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Belfast Harbour Marina (25m (82ft)), Dover Marina (30m (98ft)), Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Swansea Marina (21m (69ft)), Wick Marina (20m (66ft)), Burghead Harbour (20m (66ft)), Minehead Harbour (75m (246ft)), Stonehaven Harbour (20m (66ft)) and 34 more. Check beam and draught too.
2 of the 42 say you can: Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement) and Milford Marina (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability