Orwell Yacht Club
Ipswich, Suffolk · River Orwell
£300 a year for a 10m yacht
Fore-and-aft between piles driven into the river bed; tender needed. Berths with shore power, so you can run heating and charge batteries without the engine.
13 sites · 2 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £2,655 a year for a 10m boat (£393–£5,270 across 10 published tariffs)
Ipswich, Suffolk · River Orwell
£300 a year for a 10m yacht
Shepperton, Surrey · River Thames
£2,500 a year for a 10m cruiser
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight · Western Solent
£1,010 a year for a 10m yacht
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
Tring, Buckinghamshire · Grand Union Canal
Prices on request
Littlehampton, West Sussex · River Arun
£1,130 a year for a 10m yacht
Birdham, West Sussex · Chichester Harbour
£5,270 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£2,810 a year for a 10m yacht
Dartmouth, Devon · River Dart
£4,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble
£3,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble
£5,032 a year for a 10m yacht
Hathern, Leicestershire · River Soar
£1,188 a year for a 10m cruiser
Hayling Island, Hampshire · Mengham Rythe, Chichester Harbour
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Berths | Electric hook-up | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orwell Yacht Club | Ipswich, River Orwell | £393 | pontoon berths, linear moorings, swinging moorings, pile moorings, drying berths | Yes | Berths available |
| Thames Boat House | Shepperton, River Thames | £2,500 | pontoon berths, pile moorings | Yes | Berths available |
| Yarmouth Harbour | Yarmouth, Western Solent | £1,010 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings, pile moorings | Yes | Waiting list |
| Blackwall Basin Moorings | London, Blackwall Basin | On request | pontoon berths, pile moorings | Yes | Full |
| Cooks Wharf L1 Residential | Tring, Grand Union Canal | On request | pontoon berths, pile moorings | Yes | Full |
| Arun Yacht Club | Littlehampton, River Arun | £1,800 | pontoon berths, pile moorings, drying berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Birdham Pool Waterside & Marina | Birdham, Chichester Harbour | £5,270 | pontoon berths, pile moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Gosport Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | £2,810 | pontoon berths, pile moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Noss on Dart Marina | Dartmouth, River Dart | £4,420 | pontoon berths, pile moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Swanwick Marina | Southampton, River Hamble | £3,500 | pontoon berths, pile moorings, dry stack | Yes | Not reported |
| Universal Marina | Southampton, River Hamble | £5,032 | pontoon berths, pile moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Zouch Marina | Hathern, River Soar | £1,188 | pile moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Wilson's Boatyard | Hayling Island, Mengham Rythe, Chichester Harbour | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings, pile moorings | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 10 pile moorings with electric hook-up here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £393 a year at Orwell Yacht Club to £5,270 a year at Birdham Pool Waterside & Marina. The middle figure is £2,655 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Orwell Yacht Club is cheapest at £393 a year in Ipswich.
2 of the 13 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Orwell Yacht Club and Thames Boat House. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
1 of the 13 say you can: Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 3 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways) and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability