Brentford Island
Brentford, Greater London · Grand Union Canal
£8,183 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark.
12 sites · 2 with space now · 3 with a waiting list · typical £4,880 a year for a 10m boat (£3,680–£8,183 across 3 published tariffs)
Brentford, Greater London · Grand Union Canal
£8,183 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Hampton, Greater London · River Thames
Prices on request
Twickenham, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Brentford, Greater London · Grand Union Canal (River Brent)
Prices not published
Surbiton, Surrey · River Thames
£4,880 a year for a 10m cruiser
London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Brentford, Greater London · River Thames
£3,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Teddington, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Kew, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Surbiton, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Thames Ditton, Surrey · River Thames
Prices not published
Chiswick, London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
| Site | Distance | A year, 10m boat | Berths | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brentford Island | 4.3km north | £8,183 | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Constables Boatyard | 4.5km south-west | On request | linear moorings | Berths available |
| Hammertons Ferry Moorings | 0.8km north-east | – | linear moorings | Waiting list |
| Brentford Semi Tidal L1 Leisure | 4km north | – | linear moorings | Waiting list |
| Thames Ditton Marina | 6.1km south | £4,880 | pontoon berths | Waiting list |
| Chiswick Quay Marina | 5.1km north-east | – | pontoon berths | Full |
| Brentford Dock Marina | 4.2km north-east | £3,680 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Teddington Harbour | 2km south | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Kew Marine | 5.2km north-east | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Harts Boatyard | 5.6km south | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Barge Walk | 6.3km south | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Chiswick Pier | 6.6km north-east | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 3 walk-ashore berths here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £3,680 a year at Brentford Dock Marina to £8,183 a year at Brentford Island. The middle figure is £4,880 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Brentford Dock Marina is cheapest at £3,680 a year.
2 of the 12 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Brentford Island and Constables Boatyard. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
Hammertons Ferry Moorings, 0.8km north-east of the centre of Twickenham, on the River Thames.
3 of the 12 say you can: Brentford Island (liveaboard by arrangement), Thames Ditton Marina (liveaboard by arrangement) and Chiswick Quay Marina (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 4 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways) and 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability