Kirkintilloch Linear
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
10 sites · typical £2,102 a year for a 12m boat (£1,081–£3,415 across 9 published tariffs)
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
| Site | Distance | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kirkintilloch Linear | 0km north-west | £2,102 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | 0.1km south-west | £2,484 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Cadder Wharf | 4.1km south-west | £1,650 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | 7.3km north-east | £2,110 | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | 9.7km south-west | £3,104 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | 20.9km east | £1,242 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | 22.3km east | £1,337 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | 26.2km east | £1,081 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | 20.3km west | £3,415 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | 25.5km west | – | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 9 marinas for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £1,081 a year at Reddingmuirhead to £3,415 a year at Bowling Lower Basin. The middle figure is £2,102 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Reddingmuirhead is cheapest at £1,081 a year.
None of the 10 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 10 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kirkintilloch Linear (19m (62ft)), Southbank Marina (19m (62ft)), Cadder Wharf (19m (62ft)), Auchinstarry Marina (19m (62ft)), Speirs Wharf (19m (62ft)), The Falkirk Wheel Linear (19m (62ft)), Lock 16 Moorings (19m (62ft)), Reddingmuirhead (19m (62ft)) and 2 more. Check beam and draught too.
Kirkintilloch Linear, 0km north-west of the centre of Kirkintilloch, on the Forth & Clyde Canal.
3 of the 10 say you can: Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 9 need a Scottish Canals licence and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability