Lock 16 Moorings
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark.
13 sites · typical £3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat (£1,565–£5,482 across 13 published tariffs)
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Linlithgow, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Linlithgow, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,725 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Broxburn, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Winchburgh, West Lothian · Union Canal
£4,895 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
South Queensferry, City of Edinburgh · Firth of Forth
£3,156 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
| Site | Distance | A year, 57ft narrowboat | Berths | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lock 16 Moorings | 1.9km west | £1,936 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | 3.4km south-east | £1,565 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | 3.4km west | £1,798 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | 3.6km west | £3,054 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Braehead, Linlithgow | 11.1km east | £3,352 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Linlithgow East | 12.3km east | £3,725 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Causewayend | 16.7km east | £3,352 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | 16.9km west | £3,054 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
| Winchburgh Marina | 20.9km east | £4,895 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Port Edgar Marina | 23.5km east | £5,482 | pontoon berths, drying berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | 24.1km west | £3,042 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | 24.1km west | £3,595 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | 26.6km east | £4,905 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 13 walk-ashore berths here that publish a price, a 57ft narrowboat costs from £1,565 a year at Reddingmuirhead to £5,482 a year at Port Edgar Marina. The middle figure is £3,352 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 57ft narrowboat, Reddingmuirhead is cheapest at £1,565 a year.
None of the 13 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
Lock 16 Moorings, 1.9km west of the centre of Falkirk, on the Forth & Clyde Canal.
5 of the 13 say you can: Braehead, Linlithgow (liveaboards allowed), Linlithgow East (residential moorings with planning consent), Causewayend (liveaboards allowed), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 12 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability