The Embankment Marina
Gravesend, Kent · River Thames
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
7 sites · 1 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £2,016 a year for a 12m boat (£450–£6,731 across 3 published tariffs)
Gravesend, Kent · River Thames
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
London, Greater London · River Thames
£5,609 a year for a 10m yacht
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
London, Greater London · Limehouse Cut
Prices not published
London, Greater London · River Thames
£450 a year for a 10m yacht
Rochester, Kent · River Medway
Prices not published
Rochester, Kent · River Medway
Prices not published
| Site | Distance | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Embankment Marina | 11.5km east | £2,016 | 12m (39ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| South Dock Marina | 18.3km west | £6,731 | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Blackwall Basin Moorings | 17.6km north-west | On request | 38m (125ft) | – | – | Full |
| Abbot's Wharf L1 | 18.6km north-west | – | 18.5m (61ft) | – | – | Full |
| Greenwich Yacht Club | 14.9km west | £450 | 12.2m (40ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Trechmanns Wharf | 18.2km south-east | – | – | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Medway Marina | 18.5km south-east | – | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 3 marinas for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £450 a year at Greenwich Yacht Club to £6,731 a year at South Dock Marina. The middle figure is £2,016 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Greenwich Yacht Club is cheapest at £450 a year in London.
1 of the 7 told us in the last six weeks they have space: The Embankment Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 7 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: The Embankment Marina (12m (39ft)), South Dock Marina (13m (43ft)), Blackwall Basin Moorings (38m (125ft)), Abbot's Wharf L1 (18.5m (61ft)), Greenwich Yacht Club (12.2m (40ft)) and Port Medway Marina (30m (98ft)). Check beam and draught too.
The Embankment Marina, 11.5km east of the centre of Dartford, on the River Thames.
4 of the 7 say you can: The Embankment Marina (liveaboards allowed), South Dock Marina (liveaboards allowed), Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent) and Abbot's Wharf L1 (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence and 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways). Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability