Braehead, Linlithgow
Linlithgow, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Canals, rivers, the Broads and lakes: fresh water, no tides, and a navigation licence from the authority that runs the water.
13 sites · typical £3,203 a year for a 57ft narrowboat (£273–£8,633 across 12 published tariffs)
Linlithgow, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Linlithgow, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,725 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Broxburn, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Winchburgh, West Lothian · Union Canal
£4,895 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Distance | A year, 57ft narrowboat | Space |
|---|---|---|---|
| Braehead, Linlithgow | 8.1km north | £3,352 | Not reported |
| Linlithgow East | 9km north | £3,725 | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | 10.8km north-west | £1,565 | Not reported |
| Causewayend | 11.2km north-east | £3,352 | Not reported |
| Winchburgh Marina | 13.6km north-east | £4,895 | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | 15.1km north-west | £273 | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | 15.5km north-west | £1,936 | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | 16.5km north-west | £3,054 | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | 16.6km east | £4,905 | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | 16.7km north-west | £1,798 | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | 26.5km west | £3,054 | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | 27.4km east | £8,633 | Not reported |
| Harrison Park | 26.2km east | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 12 inland moorings here that publish a price, a 57ft narrowboat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £8,633 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £3,203 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 57ft narrowboat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
None of the 13 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
Braehead, Linlithgow, 8.1km north of the centre of Bathgate, on the Union Canal.
6 of the 13 say you can: Braehead, Linlithgow (liveaboards allowed), Linlithgow East (residential moorings with planning consent), Causewayend (liveaboards allowed), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 13 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability