Bishop Meadow L1
Loughborough, Leicestershire · River Soar
£3,272 a year for a 10m cruiser
Moorings where the site says you can live on board, outright or by arrangement. Residential moorings often need planning consent and pay council tax; we show the terms as each site states them. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
28 sites · 5 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £3,173 a year for a 12m boat (£273–£6,731 across 18 published tariffs)
Loughborough, Leicestershire · River Soar
£3,272 a year for a 10m cruiser
Waltham Abbey, Essex · Lee Navigation
Prices not published
Selby, North Yorkshire · Selby Canal
£2,750 a year for a 57ft narrowboat (from)
Gravesend, Kent · River Thames
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Tilehurst, Berkshire · River Thames
Prices not published
Sileby, Leicestershire · River Soar
Prices on request
London, Greater London · River Thames
£5,609 a year for a 10m yacht
London, Greater London · Limehouse Cut
Prices not published
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bristol, Bristol · Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour
£3,551 a year for a 10m yacht
Chelmsford, Essex · Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation
£3,120 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Oundle, Northamptonshire · River Nene
£2,250 a year for a 10m cruiser
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£4,770 a year for a 10m yacht
Saltford, Somerset · River Avon
£2,696 a year for a 10m cruiser
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Teynham, Kent · Conyer Creek and the Swale
£2,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire · Humber Estuary
Prices on request
Milford Haven, Dyfed · Milford Haven Waterway
Prices on request
Long Eaton, Leicestershire · River Trent
Prices on request
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Woodford, Northamptonshire · River Nene
Prices on request
Pershore, Worcestershire · River Avon
Prices on request
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Liveaboard | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bishop Meadow L1 | Loughborough, River Soar | £3,272 | Residential moorings with planning consent | 21.4m (70ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Hazlemere Marina | Waltham Abbey, Lee Navigation | – | Residential moorings with planning consent | 18.3m (60ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Selby Boat Centre | Selby, Selby Canal | from £2,750 | Liveaboards allowed | 18.9m (62ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| The Embankment Marina | Gravesend, River Thames | £2,016 | Liveaboards allowed | 12m (39ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Upper Large Moorings | Tilehurst, River Thames | – | Liveaboards allowed | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Sileby Mill Mooring Basin | Sileby, River Soar | On request | Liveaboards allowed | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| South Dock Marina | London, River Thames | £6,731 | Liveaboards allowed | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Abbot's Wharf L1 | London, Limehouse Cut | – | Residential moorings with planning consent | 18.5m (61ft) | – | – | Full |
| Blackwall Basin Moorings | London, Blackwall Basin | On request | Residential moorings with planning consent | 38m (125ft) | – | – | Full |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,110 | Residential moorings with planning consent | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Bristol Marina | Bristol, Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour | £4,261 | Liveaboard by arrangement | 21m (69ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation | Chelmsford, Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation | £2,156 | Liveaboard by arrangement | 17.4m (57ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £968 | Liveaboard by arrangement | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | £3,420 | Liveaboard by arrangement | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | Liveaboards allowed | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lilford Marina | Oundle, River Nene | £2,250 | Liveaboard by arrangement | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £5,964 | Residential moorings with planning consent | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ocean Quay Marina | Southampton, River Itchen | £5,454 | Liveaboard by arrangement | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Saltford Marina | Saltford, River Avon | £3,268 | Liveaboards allowed | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,484 | Residential moorings with planning consent | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | Residential moorings with planning consent | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Swale Marina | Teynham, Conyer Creek and the Swale | £3,276 | Liveaboards allowed | 13.7m (45ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hull Waterside & Marina | Hull, Humber Estuary | On request | Residential moorings with planning consent | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Milford Marina | Milford Haven, Milford Haven Waterway | On request | Liveaboards allowed | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sawley Waterside & Marina | Long Eaton, River Trent | On request | Liveaboards allowed | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £3,243 | Residential moorings with planning consent | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
| Woodford Riverside Marina | Woodford, River Nene | On request | Liveaboards allowed | 22.9m (75ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Wyre Marina Boatyard | Pershore, River Avon | On request | Liveaboard by arrangement | 21m (69ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 18 liveaboard moorings for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £6,731 a year at South Dock Marina. The middle figure is £3,173 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
5 of the 28 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Bishop Meadow L1, Hazlemere Marina, Selby Boat Centre, The Embankment Marina and Upper Large Moorings. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 28 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Bishop Meadow L1 (21.4m (70ft)), Hazlemere Marina (18.3m (60ft)), Selby Boat Centre (18.9m (62ft)), The Embankment Marina (12m (39ft)), Upper Large Moorings (21.3m (70ft)), Sileby Mill Mooring Basin (21.9m (72ft)), South Dock Marina (13m (43ft)), Abbot's Wharf L1 (18.5m (61ft)) and 20 more. Check beam and draught too.
All 28 say you can: Bishop Meadow L1 (residential moorings with planning consent), Hazlemere Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Selby Boat Centre (liveaboards allowed), The Embankment Marina (liveaboards allowed), Upper Large Moorings (liveaboards allowed), Sileby Mill Mooring Basin (liveaboards allowed), South Dock Marina (liveaboards allowed), Abbot's Wharf L1 (residential moorings with planning consent) and 20 more. Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 4 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 5 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways), 6 need a Scottish Canals licence, 2 need an Avon Navigation Trust licence and 3 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability