Kilmelford Yacht Haven
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Walk-ashore berth alongside a floating pontoon, usually in a marina. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
21 sites · 2 with space now · typical £4,796 a year for a 12m boat (£352–£7,236 across 17 published tariffs)
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Port Ellen, Argyll and Bute · Port Ellen Harbour
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Berths | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £4,796 | pontoon berths | 16.5m (54ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £7,200 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £5,436 | pontoon berths | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | £759 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £968 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £5,328 | pontoon berths | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,816 | pontoon berths | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £4,920 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £7,056 | pontoon berths, hard standing | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Largs Yacht Haven | Largs, Firth of Clyde | £7,236 | pontoon berths, hard standing | 12.1m (40ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,523 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £6,132 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rothesay Marina | Rothesay, Rothesay Harbour | £4,104 | pontoon berths | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £3,828 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Troon Yacht Haven | Troon, Firth of Clyde | £5,676 | pontoon berths, hard standing | 13.5m (44ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | pontoon berths | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | pontoon berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Ellen Marina | Port Ellen, Port Ellen Harbour | – | pontoon berths | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | Dumbarton, River Leven | – | pontoon berths | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 17 pontoon berths for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £352 a year at Ulva Ferry Pontoon to £7,236 a year at Largs Yacht Haven. The middle figure is £4,796 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Ulva Ferry Pontoon is cheapest at £352 a year.
2 of the 21 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven and Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 21 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Port Bannatyne Marina (16.5m (54ft)), Campbeltown Marina (33m (108ft)), Clyde Marina (25m (82ft)), Gairloch Harbour (14m (46ft)), Girvan Harbour (17m (56ft)), Holy Loch Marina (13m (43ft)), James Watt Marina (100m (328ft)) and 13 more. Check beam and draught too.
1 of the 21 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 5 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability