Kilmelford Yacht Haven
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Marinas and harbours on the open coast, from walk-ashore pontoons with lock gates or sills to harbour walls and fore-and-aft moorings. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
21 sites · 2 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £3,280 a year for a 12m boat (£352–£7,236 across 18 published tariffs)
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Berneray, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Sound of Harris
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Port Ellen, Argyll and Bute · Port Ellen Harbour
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £4,796 | 16.5m (54ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,820 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Berneray Harbour | Berneray, Sound of Harris | £652 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £6,624 | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £5,436 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | £759 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £968 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £5,328 | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £652 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £5,544 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Largs Yacht Haven | Largs, Firth of Clyde | £7,236 | 12.1m (40ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,523 | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rothesay Marina | Rothesay, Rothesay Harbour | £4,104 | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Troon Yacht Haven | Troon, Firth of Clyde | £5,676 | 13.5m (44ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Ellen Marina | Port Ellen, Port Ellen Harbour | – | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 18 coastal marinas and harbour moorings for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £352 a year at Ulva Ferry Pontoon to £7,236 a year at Largs Yacht Haven. The middle figure is £3,280 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Ulva Ferry Pontoon is cheapest at £352 a year.
2 of the 21 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven and Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 21 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Port Bannatyne Marina (16.5m (54ft)), Ardoran Marine (14m (46ft)), Berneray Harbour (14m (46ft)), Campbeltown Marina (33m (108ft)), Clyde Marina (25m (82ft)), Gairloch Harbour (14m (46ft)), Girvan Harbour (17m (56ft)) and 13 more. Check beam and draught too.
1 of the 21 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability