Lydney Harbour
Lydney, Gloucestershire · River Severn
£849 a year for a 10m yacht
Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 24m (80ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Large yacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early.
9 sites · 2 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £12,336 a year for a 24m boat (£302–£33,451 across 8 published tariffs)
Lydney, Gloucestershire · River Severn
£849 a year for a 10m yacht
Falmouth, Cornwall · Falmouth Harbour
£4,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
Prices not published
Bideford, Devon · River Torridge
£500 a year for a 10m yacht
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
£11,454 a year for a 10m yacht
Plymouth, Devon · Plymouth Sound, Millbay
£5,590 a year for a 10m yacht
Portishead, North Somerset · Bristol Channel
£4,690 a year for a 10m yacht
Hugh Town, Isles of Scilly · St Mary's Harbour
£302 a year for a 10m yacht
Torquay, Devon · Tor Bay
£11,232 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 24m boat | Berths | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lydney Harbour | Lydney, River Severn | £2,038 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Port Pendennis Marina | Falmouth, Falmouth Harbour | £14,400 | pontoon berths | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Salterns Marina | Poole, Poole Harbour | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Bideford Harbour | Bideford, River Torridge | £1,200 | linear moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 50m (164ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Cobb's Quay Marina | Poole, Poole Harbour | £32,976 | pontoon berths | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| King Point Marina | Plymouth, Plymouth Sound, Millbay | £13,416 | pontoon berths | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portishead Marina | Portishead, Bristol Channel | £11,256 | pontoon berths | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| St Mary's Harbour | Hugh Town, St Mary's Harbour | £302 | swinging moorings, drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Torquay Marina | Torquay, Tor Bay | £33,451 | pontoon berths | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 8 walk-ashore berths for boats over 24m here that publish a price, a 24m boat costs from £302 a year at St Mary's Harbour to £33,451 a year at Torquay Marina. The middle figure is £12,336 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 24m boat, St Mary's Harbour is cheapest at £302 a year in Hugh Town.
2 of the 9 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Lydney Harbour and Port Pendennis Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 9 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Lydney Harbour (25m (82ft)), Port Pendennis Marina (25m (82ft)), Salterns Marina (25m (82ft)), Bideford Harbour (50m (164ft)), Cobb's Quay Marina (25m (82ft)), King Point Marina (25m (82ft)), Portishead Marina (24m (79ft)), St Mary's Harbour (24m (79ft)) and 1 more. Check beam and draught too.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways). Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability