Monk Meadow
Hempsted, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
£2,474 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Canals, rivers, the Broads and lakes: fresh water, no tides, and a navigation licence from the authority that runs the water. Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers.
11 sites · 4 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £2,474 a year for a 10m cruiser (£50–£2,722 across 5 published tariffs)
Hempsted, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
£2,474 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Slimbridge, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
Prices not published
Berkeley, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
Prices not published
Sharpness, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
Prices on request
Lechlade, Gloucestershire · River Thames
Prices not published
Bathampton, Somerset · Kennet & Avon Canal
Prices not published
Gloucester, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
Prices not published
Gloucester, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
Prices not published
Chaceley, Gloucestershire · River Severn
£50 a year for a 10m cruiser
Saltford, Somerset · River Avon
£2,696 a year for a 10m cruiser
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire · River Avon
Prices on request
| Site | Where | A year, 10m cruiser | Space |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monk Meadow | Hempsted, Gloucester & Sharpness Canal | £2,474 | Berths available |
| Patch Bridge South L1 Leisure | Slimbridge, Gloucester & Sharpness Canal | £2,382 | Berths available |
| Purton South L1 Leisure | Berkeley, Gloucester & Sharpness Canal | £2,722 | Berths available |
| Sharpness Marina | Sharpness, Gloucester & Sharpness Canal | On request | Berths available |
| Lechlade Marina | Lechlade, River Thames | – | Waiting list |
| Bathampton L1 Leisure Moorings | Bathampton, Kennet & Avon Canal | – | Full |
| Sellars Bridge L1 Leisure | Gloucester, Gloucester & Sharpness Canal | – | Full |
| Victoria Basin L1 Leisure | Gloucester, Gloucester & Sharpness Canal | – | Full |
| Avon Sailing Club | Chaceley, River Severn | £50 | Not reported |
| Saltford Marina | Saltford, River Avon | £2,696 | Not reported |
| Tewkesbury Marina | Tewkesbury, River Avon | On request | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 5 inland moorings for cruisers here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £50 a year at Avon Sailing Club to £2,722 a year at Purton South L1 Leisure. The middle figure is £2,474 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m cruiser, Avon Sailing Club is cheapest at £50 a year in Chaceley.
4 of the 11 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Monk Meadow, Patch Bridge South L1 Leisure, Purton South L1 Leisure and Sharpness Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
1 of the 11 say you can: Saltford Marina (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 8 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways) and 2 need an Avon Navigation Trust licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability