Upper Large Moorings
Tilehurst, Berkshire · River Thames
Prices not published
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Sites with an engineer, workshop or boatyard on site, so jobs get done without moving the boat.
11 sites · 1 with space now · typical £11,950 a year for a 20m boat (£5,700–£28,224 across 8 published tariffs)
Tilehurst, Berkshire · River Thames
Prices not published
Brighton, East Sussex · English Channel (Sussex coast)
£5,480 a year for a 10m yacht
Gillingham, Kent · River Medway
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Newport, Isle of Wight · River Medina
£4,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Hayling Island, Hampshire · Chichester Harbour
£13,224 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Pyrford, Surrey · River Wey Navigation
£3,729 a year for a 10m cruiser
Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble
£3,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Fareham, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£3,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckler's Hard, Hampshire · Beaulieu River
Prices not published
Hamble, Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 20m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Repairs and engineering | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upper Large Moorings | Tilehurst, River Thames | – | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Brighton Marina | Brighton, English Channel (Sussex coast) | £14,300 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Gillingham Marina | Gillingham, River Medway | £5,700 | 23m (75ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Island Harbour Marina | Newport, River Medina | £9,600 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Northney Marina | Hayling Island, Chichester Harbour | £28,224 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Port Solent Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £17,400 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Pyrford Marina | Pyrford, River Wey Navigation | £7,457 | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Swanwick Marina | Southampton, River Hamble | £17,000 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| WicorMarine Yacht Haven | Fareham, Portsmouth Harbour | £7,040 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Buckler's Hard Yacht Harbour | Buckler's Hard, Beaulieu River | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Hamble Point Marina | Hamble, Southampton, River Hamble | – | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 8 marinas for boats over 20m with boat repairs on site here that publish a price, a 20m boat costs from £5,700 a year at Gillingham Marina to £28,224 a year at Northney Marina. The middle figure is £11,950 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 20m boat, Gillingham Marina is cheapest at £5,700 a year.
1 of the 11 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Upper Large Moorings. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 11 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Upper Large Moorings (21.3m (70ft)), Brighton Marina (20m (66ft)), Gillingham Marina (23m (75ft)), Island Harbour Marina (20m (66ft)), Northney Marina (24m (79ft)), Port Solent Marina (24m (79ft)), Pyrford Marina (21.3m (70ft)), Swanwick Marina (22m (72ft)) and 3 more. Check beam and draught too.
1 of the 11 say you can: Upper Large Moorings (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways) and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability