Shepards Marina
Cowes, Isle of Wight · River Medina
£6,428 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 24m (80ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Large yacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early. Sites with locked pontoon or site gates, or CCTV, for peace of mind when you're away from the boat.
9 sites · 1 with a waiting list · typical £27,113 a year for a 24m boat (£15,426–£48,269 across 7 published tariffs)
Cowes, Isle of Wight · River Medina
£6,428 a year for a 10m yacht
Lymington, Hampshire · Lymington River
£10,193 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£4,770 a year for a 10m yacht
Hamble, Hampshire · River Hamble
£14,904 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£6,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£9,042 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£10,770 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 24m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Secure gated access / CCTV | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shepards Marina | Cowes, River Medina | £15,426 | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Berthon Lymington Marina | Lymington, Lymington River | £27,113 | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Gunwharf Quays Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £19,200 | 80m (262ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Ocean Quay Marina | Southampton, River Itchen | – | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Port Hamble Marina | Hamble, River Hamble | £48,269 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Port Solent Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £21,360 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | – | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Saxon Wharf | Southampton, River Itchen | £35,352 | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Shamrock Quay | Southampton, River Itchen | £37,656 | 70m (230ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 7 marinas for boats over 24m with gated access or CCTV here that publish a price, a 24m boat costs from £15,426 a year at Shepards Marina to £48,269 a year at Port Hamble Marina. The middle figure is £27,113 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 24m boat, Shepards Marina is cheapest at £15,426 a year in Cowes.
None of the 9 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 9 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Shepards Marina (40m (131ft)), Berthon Lymington Marina (30.5m (100ft)), Gunwharf Quays Marina (80m (262ft)), Ocean Quay Marina (30m (98ft)), Port Hamble Marina (24m (79ft)), Port Solent Marina (24m (79ft)), Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina (30.5m (100ft)), Saxon Wharf (40m (131ft)) and 1 more. Check beam and draught too.
1 of the 9 say you can: Ocean Quay Marina (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability