Kilmelford Yacht Haven
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Places that take sailing yachts. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 15m (50ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
31 sites · 3 with space now · typical £3,310 a year for a 15m boat (£78–£9,300 across 23 published tariffs)
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Wick, Highland · North Sea
Prices not published
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
Port Ellen, Argyll and Bute · Port Ellen Harbour
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 15m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £5,995 | 16.5m (54ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Wick Marina | Wick, North Sea | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,248 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,897 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,637 | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £155 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £4,062 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £3,310 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £1,210 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £4,770 | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £6,150 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £6,930 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £9,300 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £2,558 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £3,154 | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £2,250 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £7,665 | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £4,785 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,415 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Johnshaven Harbour | Johnshaven, North Sea, Johnshaven | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Ellen Marina | Port Ellen, Port Ellen Harbour | – | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rosehearty Harbour | Rosehearty, North Sea | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | Dumbarton, River Leven | – | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £4,054 | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 23 sailing yacht moorings for boats over 15m here that publish a price, a 15m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £9,300 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £3,310 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 15m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
3 of the 31 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven, Port Bannatyne Marina and Wick Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 31 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Port Bannatyne Marina (16.5m (54ft)), Wick Marina (20m (66ft)), Ardrishaig Basin (26.8m (88ft)), Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock (26.8m (88ft)), Auchinstarry Marina (19m (62ft)), Eyemouth Harbour (20m (66ft)), Fort Augustus (45m (148ft)) and 23 more. Check beam and draught too.
4 of the 31 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 9 need a Scottish Canals licence and 5 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability