Taymouth Marina
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross · Loch Tay
Prices on request
Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers. Walk-ashore berth alongside a floating pontoon, usually in a marina.
30 sites · 1 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £2,204 a year for a 10m cruiser (£78–£6,204 across 22 published tariffs)
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross · Loch Tay
Prices on request
Tayport, Fife · River Tay estuary
Prices not published
Tobermory, Argyll and Bute · Tobermory Bay
Prices not published
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,518 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Benderloch, Argyll and Bute · Loch Creran
Prices not published
Cullen, Moray · Cullen Harbour
Prices not published
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Granton Harbour
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m cruiser | Berths | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Taymouth Marina | Kenmore, Loch Tay | On request | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Berths available |
| Tayport Harbour | Tayport, River Tay estuary | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Waiting list |
| Tobermory Harbour | Tobermory, Tobermory Bay | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Waiting list |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,165 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
| Cairnbaan Lock 5 | Cairnbaan, Crinan Canal | £2,025 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £2,708 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,207 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £4,440 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £4,100 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,115 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | £2,630 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £3,190 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,201 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Creran Moorings | Benderloch, Loch Creran | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Cullen Harbour | Cullen, Cullen Harbour | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Edinburgh Marina | Edinburgh, Granton Harbour | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 22 cruiser moorings with pontoon berths here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,204 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m cruiser, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
1 of the 30 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Taymouth Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
3 of the 30 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 11 need a Scottish Canals licence, 1 need lake registration where the lake authority requires it and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability