Ardrishaig Basin
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
12 sites · typical £5,197 a year for a 20m boat (£3,000–£12,396 across 9 published tariffs)
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 20m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £4,331 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £5,197 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £5,416 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £4,413 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £6,580 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £12,396 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £3,410 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £3,000 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £6,380 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rosehearty Harbour | Rosehearty, North Sea | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 9 cruiser moorings for boats over 20m here that publish a price, a 20m boat costs from £3,000 a year at Peterhead Bay Marina to £12,396 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £5,197 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 20m boat, Peterhead Bay Marina is cheapest at £3,000 a year.
None of the 12 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 12 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Ardrishaig Basin (26.8m (88ft)), Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock (26.8m (88ft)), Fort Augustus (45m (148ft)), Gairlochy (45m (148ft)), Kerrera Marina (22m (72ft)), Kirkwall Marina (20m (66ft)), Laggan Avenue (45m (148ft)), Peterhead Bay Marina (22m (72ft)) and 4 more. Check beam and draught too.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 5 need a Scottish Canals licence and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability