Lerwick Port Authority
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Places that take sailing yachts.
42 sites · 1 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £2,204 a year for a 10m yacht (£78–£6,204 across 42 published tariffs)
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · North Sea, Dunbar Harbour
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,598 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,918 a year for a 10m yacht
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,518 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Helensburgh, Argyll and Bute · Gare Loch
£2,592 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute · Loch Craignish
£3,020 a year for a 10m yacht
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
South Queensferry, City of Edinburgh · Firth of Forth
£3,156 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort William, Highland · Loch Linnhe
£4,050 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 10m yacht | Per metre a year | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | £7.77 | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £103 | £10.32 | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | £27.26 | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | £35.20 | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £413 | £41.30 | Not reported |
| Broad Haven (Dunbar Harbour) | Dunbar, North Sea, Dunbar Harbour | £580 | £58 | Not reported |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £580 | £58 | Waiting list |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | £65 | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | £75 | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £807 | £80.65 | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | £128.50 | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | £150 | Not reported |
| Stornoway Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,598 | £159.84 | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | £168 | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £1,705 | £170.52 | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | Not reported |
| Newton Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,918 | £191.81 | Not reported |
| Cairnbaan Lock 5 | Cairnbaan, Crinan Canal | £2,025 | £202.51 | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | £210.27 | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,165 | £216.53 | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,201 | £220.08 | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,207 | £220.67 | Not reported |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,350 | £235 | Waiting list |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | £247.20 | Not reported |
| Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club | Helensburgh, Gare Loch | £2,592 | £259.20 | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | £259.83 | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | £270.24 | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £2,708 | £270.82 | Not reported |
| Ardfern Yacht Centre | Ardfern, Loch Craignish | £3,020 | £302 | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | £310.79 | Not reported |
| Port Edgar Marina | South Queensferry, Firth of Forth | £3,156 | £315.60 | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,180 | £318 | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | £374 | Not reported |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £3,997 | £399.67 | Berths available |
| Thomas Telford Corpach Marina | Fort William, Loch Linnhe | £4,050 | £405 | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | £444 | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £4,440 | £444 | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £4,620 | £462 | Not reported |
| Troon Yacht Haven | Troon, Firth of Clyde | £4,730 | £473 | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £5,110 | £511 | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 42 cheapest sailing yacht moorings here that publish a price, a 10m yacht costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,204 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m yacht, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
1 of the 42 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
4 of the 42 say you can: Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 11 need a Scottish Canals licence and 5 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability