Lerwick Port Authority
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Marinas and harbours on the open coast, from walk-ashore pontoons with lock gates or sills to harbour walls and fore-and-aft moorings.
45 sites · 3 with space now · 4 with a waiting list · typical £1,680 a year for a 10m yacht (£78–£6,204 across 45 published tariffs)
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Berneray, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Sound of Harris
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Cockenzie, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£480 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · North Sea, Dunbar Harbour
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway · Irish Sea, Portpatrick
£880 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Nairn, Highland · Moray Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Portmahomack, Highland · Dornoch Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,598 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehills, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
£1,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Arbroath, Angus · North Sea coast, Angus
£1,810 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,918 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lossiemouth, Moray · Moray Firth
£2,157 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute · Loch Craignish
£3,020 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort William, Highland · Loch Linnhe
£4,050 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Pierowall, Orkney Islands · Pierowall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 10m yacht | Per metre a year | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | £7.77 | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £103 | £10.32 | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | £35.20 | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | £403 | £40.30 | Not reported |
| Berneray Harbour | Berneray, Sound of Harris | £413 | £41.30 | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £413 | £41.30 | Not reported |
| Cockenzie Harbour | Cockenzie, Firth of Forth | £480 | £48 | Not reported |
| Broad Haven (Dunbar Harbour) | Dunbar, North Sea, Dunbar Harbour | £580 | £58 | Not reported |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £580 | £58 | Waiting list |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | £65 | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £717 | £71.66 | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £717 | £71.66 | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | £75 | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £807 | £80.65 | Not reported |
| Portpatrick Harbour | Portpatrick, Irish Sea, Portpatrick | £880 | £88 | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £893 | £89.30 | Not reported |
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £893 | £89.30 | Waiting list |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | £128.50 | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | £150 | Not reported |
| Nairn Harbour | Nairn, Moray Firth | £1,545 | £154.50 | Berths available |
| Portmahomack Harbour | Portmahomack, Dornoch Firth | £1,545 | £154.50 | Waiting list |
| Stornoway Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,598 | £159.84 | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | £168 | Not reported |
| Whitehills Marina | Whitehills, Moray Firth | £1,800 | £180 | Berths available |
| Arbroath Harbour | Arbroath, North Sea coast, Angus | £1,810 | £181 | Not reported |
| Newton Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,918 | £191.81 | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | £210.27 | Not reported |
| Lossiemouth Marina | Lossiemouth, Moray Firth | £2,157 | £215.71 | Not reported |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,350 | £235 | Waiting list |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | £247.20 | Not reported |
| Ardfern Yacht Centre | Ardfern, Loch Craignish | £3,020 | £302 | Not reported |
| Rothesay Marina | Rothesay, Rothesay Harbour | £3,420 | £342 | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | £374 | Not reported |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £3,997 | £399.67 | Berths available |
| Thomas Telford Corpach Marina | Fort William, Loch Linnhe | £4,050 | £405 | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | £444 | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £4,440 | £444 | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £4,530 | £453 | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £4,620 | £462 | Not reported |
| Troon Yacht Haven | Troon, Firth of Clyde | £4,730 | £473 | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 45 cheapest coastal marinas and harbour moorings here that publish a price, a 10m yacht costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £1,680 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m yacht, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
3 of the 45 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Nairn Harbour, Whitehills Marina and Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
1 of the 45 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability