Eyemouth Harbour
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
21 sites · 1 with a waiting list · typical £5,416 a year for a 20m boat (£206–£12,396 across 21 published tariffs)
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Pierowall, Orkney Islands · Pierowall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 20m boat | Per metre a year | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £206 | £10.32 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £1,433 | £71.66 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £1,433 | £71.66 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £1,786 | £89.30 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £1,786 | £89.30 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £3,000 | £150 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £3,410 | £170.52 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £4,331 | £216.53 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £4,413 | £220.67 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £5,197 | £259.83 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £5,416 | £270.82 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £6,360 | £318 | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £6,380 | £319 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £6,580 | £329 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £9,060 | £453 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £9,240 | £462 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £10,220 | £511 | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £11,040 | £552 | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Stromness Marina | Stromness, Stromness Harbour | £12,024 | £601.20 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £12,396 | £619.80 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Westray Marina | Pierowall, Pierowall Harbour | £12,396 | £619.80 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 21 cheapest marinas for boats over 20m here that publish a price, a 20m boat costs from £206 a year at Eyemouth Harbour to £12,396 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £5,416 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 20m boat, Eyemouth Harbour is cheapest at £206 a year.
None of the 21 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 21 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Eyemouth Harbour (20m (66ft)), Hopeman Harbour (20m (66ft)), Portknockie Harbour (20m (66ft)), Buckie Harbour (20m (66ft)), Burghead Harbour (20m (66ft)), Peterhead Bay Marina (22m (72ft)), Laggan Avenue (45m (148ft)), Ardrishaig Basin (26.8m (88ft)) and 13 more. Check beam and draught too.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 5 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability