Lerwick Port Authority
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
53 sites · 3 with space now · 3 with a waiting list · typical £2,484 a year for a 12m boat (£78–£7,440 across 53 published tariffs)
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Berneray, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Sound of Harris
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Nairn, Highland · Moray Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Portmahomack, Highland · Dornoch Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Whitehills, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
£1,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway · River Dee
£1,871 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Helensburgh, Argyll and Bute · Gare Loch
£2,592 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Pierowall, Orkney Islands · Pierowall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Per metre a year | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | £6.48 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £124 | £10.32 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | £22.72 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | £29.34 | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Berneray Harbour | Berneray, Sound of Harris | £652 | £54.33 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £652 | £54.33 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | £759 | £63.25 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £860 | £71.67 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £860 | £71.67 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £968 | £80.65 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £1,072 | £89.30 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £1,072 | £89.30 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Reddingmuirhead | Reddingmuirhead, Union Canal | £1,081 | £90.12 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,242 | £103.49 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,337 | £111.45 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Cadder Wharf | Bishopbriggs, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,650 | £137.52 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | £140 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,800 | £150 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Nairn Harbour | Nairn, Moray Firth | £2,003 | £166.92 | 12m (39ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Portmahomack Harbour | Portmahomack, Dornoch Firth | £2,003 | £166.92 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £2,046 | £170.52 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,102 | £175.14 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,110 | £175.80 | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Whitehills Marina | Whitehills, Moray Firth | £2,160 | £180 | 12m (39ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Kirkcudbright Marina | Kirkcudbright, River Dee | £2,245 | £187.05 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | £206 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,484 | £206.97 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,523 | £210.27 | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | £216.53 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,641 | £220.08 | 14m (46ft) | 3.5m | – | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,648 | £220.67 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,820 | £235 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | £258.67 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,118 | £259.83 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club | Helensburgh, Gare Loch | £3,156 | £263 | 13.7m (45ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £3,243 | £270.24 | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £3,250 | £270.82 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,415 | £284.58 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | £311.67 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,816 | £318 | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 53 cheapest marinas for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £7,440 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,484 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
3 of the 53 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Nairn Harbour, Whitehills Marina and Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 53 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Lerwick Port Authority (15m (49ft)), Eyemouth Harbour (20m (66ft)), Kelpies Marina (19m (62ft)), Ulva Ferry Pontoon (16m (52ft)), Berneray Harbour (14m (46ft)), Kallin Harbour (14m (46ft)), Gairloch Harbour (14m (46ft)), Hopeman Harbour (20m (66ft)) and 45 more. Check beam and draught too.
7 of the 53 say you can: Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent), Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 18 need a Scottish Canals licence and 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability