Ardrishaig Basin
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Marinas, basins and linear towpath moorings on the canal network: mostly narrowboats and widebeams, priced per foot or metre a year, with a navigation licence on top. Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers.
19 sites · typical £2,165 a year for a 10m cruiser (£273–£4,970 across 17 published tariffs)
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,518 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m cruiser | Space |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,165 | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | Not reported |
| Cadder Wharf | Bishopbriggs, Forth & Clyde Canal | – | Not reported |
| Cairnbaan Lock 5 | Cairnbaan, Crinan Canal | £2,025 | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £2,708 | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,751 | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £4,970 | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,115 | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | £2,630 | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | Reddingmuirhead, Union Canal | £901 | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,035 | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,201 | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | Not reported |
| Harrison Park | Edinburgh, Union Canal | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 17 canal moorings and marinas for cruisers here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £4,970 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £2,165 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m cruiser, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
None of the 19 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
6 of the 19 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 19 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability