Port Bannatyne Marina
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Sites with a pump-out for holding tanks, so you can empty without cruising to a service point.
13 sites · 1 with space now · typical £2,794 a year for a 12m boat (£273–£5,964 across 12 published tariffs)
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Pump-out | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £4,796 | 16.5m (54ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,110 | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Yes | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £3,250 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,102 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £5,964 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,337 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | – | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,484 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,242 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,415 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £3,243 | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 12 marinas for boats over 12m with a pump-out here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £5,964 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £2,794 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
1 of the 13 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 13 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Port Bannatyne Marina (16.5m (54ft)), Auchinstarry Marina (19m (62ft)), Fort Augustus (45m (148ft)), Kelpies Marina (19m (62ft)), Kirkintilloch Linear (19m (62ft)), Lochrin Basin (19m (62ft)), Lock 16 Moorings (19m (62ft)), Ratho Marina (19m (62ft)) and 5 more. Check beam and draught too.
6 of the 13 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 12 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability