Coastal moorings that allow liveaboards in Greater London

Salt water: open-coast marinas and harbours, and the estuaries and tidal rivers behind them. Moorings where the site says you can live on board, outright or by arrangement. Residential moorings often need planning consent and pay council tax; we show the terms as each site states them.

5 sites · 1 with a waiting list · typical £5,609 a year for a 10m boat (£5,609–£5,609 across 1 published tariffs)

At a glance

Estuaries & tidal rivers Waiting list

South Dock Marina

London, Greater London · River Thames

£5,609 a year for a 10m yacht

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers Full

Blackwall Basin Moorings

London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin

Prices on request

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers Full

Chiswick Quay Marina

London, Greater London · River Thames

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Compared: prices for a 10m boat

SiteWhereA year, 10m boatLiveaboardSpace
South Dock MarinaLondon, River Thames£5,609Liveaboards allowedWaiting list
Blackwall Basin MooringsLondon, Blackwall BasinOn requestResidential moorings with planning consentFull
Chiswick Quay MarinaLondon, River Thames–Liveaboards allowedFull
Limehouse Waterside & MarinaLondon, River Thames–Liveaboards allowedNot reported
Poplar Waterside & MarinaLondon, River ThamesOn requestResidential moorings with planning consentNot reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

Which coastal moorings that allow liveaboards in Greater London have space now?

None of the 5 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Can you live aboard at coastal moorings that allow liveaboards in Greater London?

All 5 say you can: South Dock Marina (liveaboards allowed), Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent), Chiswick Quay Marina (liveaboards allowed), Limehouse Waterside & Marina (liveaboards allowed) and Poplar Waterside & Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Coastal moorings that allow liveaboards in nearby counties

Coastal moorings that allow liveaboards in the wider area

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability