Widebeam moorings with walk-ashore berths in Falkirk

Places that take widebeams. Canal boats over 7ft beam. Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark.

3 sites · typical £2,038 a year for a 60ft widebeam (£1,893–£3,215 across 3 published tariffs)

At a glance

Canals

Lock 16 Moorings

Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal

£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Compared: prices for a 60ft widebeam

SiteWhereA year, 60ft widebeamBerthsSpace
Lock 16 MooringsFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£2,038pontoon berthsNot reported
The Falkirk Wheel BasinFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£3,215pontoon berthsNot reported
The Falkirk Wheel LinearFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,893linear mooringsNot reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 60ft widebeam cost in Falkirk?

Across the 3 widebeam moorings with walk-ashore berths here that publish a price, a 60ft widebeam costs from £1,893 a year at The Falkirk Wheel Linear to £3,215 a year at The Falkirk Wheel Basin. The middle figure is £2,038 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest widebeam moorings with walk-ashore berths in Falkirk?

For a 60ft widebeam, The Falkirk Wheel Linear is cheapest at £1,893 a year.

Which widebeam moorings with walk-ashore berths in Falkirk have space now?

None of the 3 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 3 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Widebeam moorings with walk-ashore berths in nearby counties

Widebeam moorings with walk-ashore berths in the wider area

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability