Dover Marina
Dover, Kent · English Channel
£3,450 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Sites with locked pontoon or site gates, or CCTV, for peace of mind when you're away from the boat.
42 sites · 5 with space now · 4 with a waiting list · typical £11,180 a year for a 20m boat (£414–£40,224 across 27 published tariffs)
Dover, Kent · English Channel
£3,450 a year for a 10m yacht
Atherstone, Warwickshire · Coventry Canal
Prices on request
Hempsted, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
£2,474 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear · River Tyne
£276 a year for a 10m yacht
Falmouth, Cornwall · Falmouth Harbour
£4,800 a year for a 10m yacht
March, Cambridgeshire · Middle Level Navigations
£1,079 a year for a 10m cruiser
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
Prices not published
Cowes, Isle of Wight · River Medina
£6,428 a year for a 10m yacht
Sileby, Leicestershire · River Soar
Prices on request
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
Lymington, Hampshire · Lymington River
£10,193 a year for a 10m yacht
Bristol, Bristol · Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour
£3,551 a year for a 10m yacht
Dartmouth, Devon · River Dart
£8,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Kingswear, Devon · River Dart
£3,240 a year for a 10m yacht
Ipswich, Suffolk · River Orwell
£3,673 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£2,810 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,650 a year for a 10m yacht
Newport, Isle of Wight · River Medina
£4,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Plymouth, Devon · Plymouth Sound, Millbay
£5,590 a year for a 10m yacht
Plymouth, Devon · Plymouth Sound
£5,920 a year for a 10m yacht
Newhaven, East Sussex · River Ouse
£4,781 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£4,770 a year for a 10m yacht
Hamble, Hampshire · River Hamble
£14,904 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Pyrford, Surrey · River Wey Navigation
£3,729 a year for a 10m cruiser
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£6,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Saltford, Somerset · River Avon
£2,696 a year for a 10m cruiser
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£9,042 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£10,770 a year for a 10m yacht
Levington, Suffolk · River Orwell
£4,210 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble
£3,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckler's Hard, Hampshire · Beaulieu River
Prices not published
Sandwich, Kent · River Stour
Prices not published
Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire · Humber Estuary
Prices on request
King's Lynn, Norfolk · River Great Ouse
Prices not published
Newbury, Berkshire · Kennet Navigation
Prices on request
Long Eaton, Leicestershire · River Trent
Prices on request
Rochford, Essex · River Roach
Prices on request
Rochford, Essex · River Roach
Prices on request
Rochester, Kent · River Medway
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 20m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Secure gated access / CCTV | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dover Marina | Dover, English Channel | £6,900 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Mancetter Marina | Atherstone, Coventry Canal | On request | 33.5m (110ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Monk Meadow | Hempsted, Gloucester & Sharpness Canal | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Newcastle City Marina | Newcastle upon Tyne, River Tyne | £414 | 26m (85ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Port Pendennis Marina | Falmouth, Falmouth Harbour | £12,000 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Fox Narrowboats Marina | March, Middle Level Navigations | £2,159 | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Salterns Marina | Poole, Poole Harbour | – | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Shepards Marina | Cowes, River Medina | £12,855 | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Sileby Mill Mooring Basin | Sileby, River Soar | On request | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Blackwall Basin Moorings | London, Blackwall Basin | On request | 38m (125ft) | – | – | Yes | Full |
| Berthon Lymington Marina | Lymington, Lymington River | £22,171 | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Bristol Marina | Bristol, Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour | £7,101 | 21m (69ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Dart Marina | Dartmouth, River Dart | £16,700 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Darthaven Marina | Kingswear, River Dart | £6,480 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Fox's Marina & Boatyard | Ipswich, River Orwell | £7,347 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Gosport Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | £5,620 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Gunwharf Quays Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £16,000 | 80m (262ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | £5,700 | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Yes | Not reported |
| Haslar Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | £15,960 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Island Harbour Marina | Newport, River Medina | £9,600 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| King Point Marina | Plymouth, Plymouth Sound, Millbay | £11,180 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Mayflower Marina | Plymouth, Plymouth Sound | £11,840 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Newhaven Marina | Newhaven, River Ouse | £12,320 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Ocean Quay Marina | Southampton, River Itchen | – | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Port Hamble Marina | Hamble, River Hamble | £40,224 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Port Solent Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £17,400 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Pyrford Marina | Pyrford, River Wey Navigation | £7,457 | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | – | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Saltford Marina | Saltford, River Avon | £5,392 | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Saxon Wharf | Southampton, River Itchen | £29,460 | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Shamrock Quay | Southampton, River Itchen | £31,380 | 70m (230ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Suffolk Yacht Harbour | Levington, River Orwell | £8,420 | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Swanwick Marina | Southampton, River Hamble | £17,000 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Buckler's Hard Yacht Harbour | Buckler's Hard, Beaulieu River | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Highway Marine | Sandwich, River Stour | – | 24.4m (80ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Hull Waterside & Marina | Hull, Humber Estuary | On request | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| King's Lynn Visitor Pontoons | King's Lynn, River Great Ouse | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Newbury Marina | Newbury, Kennet Navigation | On request | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Sawley Waterside & Marina | Long Eaton, River Trent | On request | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Sutton Wharf Boatyard | Rochford, River Roach | On request | 45.7m (150ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 27 marinas for boats over 20m with gated access or CCTV here that publish a price, a 20m boat costs from £414 a year at Newcastle City Marina to £40,224 a year at Port Hamble Marina. The middle figure is £11,180 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 20m boat, Newcastle City Marina is cheapest at £414 a year in Newcastle upon Tyne.
5 of the 42 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Dover Marina, Mancetter Marina, Monk Meadow, Newcastle City Marina and Port Pendennis Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 42 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Dover Marina (30m (98ft)), Mancetter Marina (33.5m (110ft)), Monk Meadow (20m (66ft)), Newcastle City Marina (26m (85ft)), Port Pendennis Marina (25m (82ft)), Fox Narrowboats Marina (21.3m (70ft)), Salterns Marina (25m (82ft)), Shepards Marina (40m (131ft)) and 33 more. Check beam and draught too.
8 of the 42 say you can: Sileby Mill Mooring Basin (liveaboards allowed), Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent), Bristol Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Ocean Quay Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Saltford Marina (liveaboards allowed), Hull Waterside & Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Sawley Waterside & Marina (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 3 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 4 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways), 1 need an Avon Navigation Trust licence and 6 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability