Hazlemere Marina
Waltham Abbey, Essex · Lee Navigation
Prices not published
Marinas, basins and linear towpath moorings on the canal network: mostly narrowboats and widebeams, priced per foot or metre a year, with a navigation licence on top. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 15m (50ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
27 sites · 5 with space now · typical £2,695 a year for a 15m boat (£273–£7,455 across 21 published tariffs)
Waltham Abbey, Essex · Lee Navigation
Prices not published
Lichfield, Staffordshire · Wyrley & Essington Canal and Coventry Canal
£1,283 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Atherstone, Warwickshire · Coventry Canal
Prices on request
Hempsted, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
£2,474 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Selby, North Yorkshire · Selby Canal
£2,750 a year for a 57ft narrowboat (from)
London, Greater London · Limehouse Cut
Prices not published
Market Harborough, Leicestershire · Grand Union Canal, Market Harborough Arm
Prices not published
Newry, Down · Newry Ship Canal
£527 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Chelmsford, Essex · Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation
£3,120 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Thorne, South Yorkshire · Stainforth & Keadby Canal
£3,995 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 15m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hazlemere Marina | Waltham Abbey, Lee Navigation | – | 18.3m (60ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Lichfield Cruising Club | Lichfield, Wyrley & Essington Canal and Coventry Canal | £1,125 | 17.4m (57ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Mancetter Marina | Atherstone, Coventry Canal | On request | 33.5m (110ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Monk Meadow | Hempsted, Gloucester & Sharpness Canal | £2,474 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Selby Boat Centre | Selby, Selby Canal | from £2,750 | 18.9m (62ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Abbot's Wharf L1 | London, Limehouse Cut | – | 18.5m (61ft) | – | – | Full |
| Market Harborough Towpath L1 Leisure | Market Harborough, Grand Union Canal, Market Harborough Arm | – | 18.5m (61ft) | – | – | Full |
| Albert Basin | Newry, Newry Ship Canal | £527 | 60m (197ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,248 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,897 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,637 | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Cadder Wharf | Bishopbriggs, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,063 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation | Chelmsford, Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation | £2,695 | 17.4m (57ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £4,062 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,627 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £7,455 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,672 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | – | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | Reddingmuirhead, Union Canal | £1,352 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,105 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Staniland Marina | Thorne, Stainforth & Keadby Canal | £3,450 | 18.3m (60ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,552 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,415 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Harrison Park | Edinburgh, Union Canal | – | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £4,054 | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 21 canal moorings and marinas for boats over 15m here that publish a price, a 15m boat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £7,455 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £2,695 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 15m boat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
5 of the 27 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Hazlemere Marina, Lichfield Cruising Club, Mancetter Marina, Monk Meadow and Selby Boat Centre. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 27 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Hazlemere Marina (18.3m (60ft)), Lichfield Cruising Club (17.4m (57ft)), Mancetter Marina (33.5m (110ft)), Monk Meadow (20m (66ft)), Selby Boat Centre (18.9m (62ft)), Abbot's Wharf L1 (18.5m (61ft)), Market Harborough Towpath L1 Leisure (18.5m (61ft)), Albert Basin (60m (197ft)) and 19 more. Check beam and draught too.
10 of the 27 say you can: Hazlemere Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Selby Boat Centre (liveaboards allowed), Abbot's Wharf L1 (residential moorings with planning consent), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation (liveaboard by arrangement), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and 2 more. Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 7 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 17 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability