Salterns Marina
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
Prices not published
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 24m (80ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Large yacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early. Sites with a chandlery on site for parts, paint and gear.
12 sites · 1 with a waiting list · typical £12,756 a year for a 24m boat (£6,236–£48,269 across 10 published tariffs)
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
Prices not published
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
£11,454 a year for a 10m yacht
Conwy, Conwy · River Conwy
£6,150 a year for a 10m yacht
Ipswich, Suffolk · River Orwell
£3,673 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Hamble, Hampshire · River Hamble
£14,904 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 24m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Chandlery | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salterns Marina | Poole, Poole Harbour | – | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £6,236 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £13,248 | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Cobb's Quay Marina | Poole, Poole Harbour | £32,976 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Conwy Marina | Conwy, River Conwy | £14,760 | 26m (85ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Fox's Marina & Boatyard | Ipswich, River Orwell | £8,816 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £11,088 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Port Hamble Marina | Hamble, River Hamble | £48,269 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Port Solent Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £21,360 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £12,264 | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £7,656 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | Dumbarton, River Leven | – | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 10 marinas for boats over 24m with a chandlery here that publish a price, a 24m boat costs from £6,236 a year at Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock to £48,269 a year at Port Hamble Marina. The middle figure is £12,756 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 24m boat, Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock is cheapest at £6,236 a year.
None of the 12 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 12 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Salterns Marina (25m (82ft)), Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock (26.8m (88ft)), Campbeltown Marina (33m (108ft)), Cobb's Quay Marina (25m (82ft)), Conwy Marina (26m (85ft)), Fox's Marina & Boatyard (25m (82ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)), Port Hamble Marina (24m (79ft)) and 4 more. Check beam and draught too.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability